SWALLOW THE SUN: 'Plague Of Butterflies' Artwork Revealed

Finnish doom metallers SWALLOW THE SUN will release their new EP, "Plague of Butterflies", on September 17 in Finland, September 22 in the UK and September 23 in the U.S. via Spinefarm Records.

Check out the EP artwork below.

Commented the band: "'Plague of Butterflies' is a story about an old hermit, deep woods, loneliness and the plague. It's one song in three parts and holds about 35 minutes of crushing gloom, beauty and despair. Music was originally ordered from us for a really interesting and big project, but the project was sadly abandoned. Because of this we are planning to use the music in different context namely in a short movie - and we are in search for suitable partners to make this happen. We'll give more info on this later as things move on and wheels start to roll."

"Plague of Butterflies" track listing:

01. Losing the Sunsets
02. Plague of Butterflies
03. Evael 10:00

The album also includes the rare "Out of This Gloomy Light" demo. There were only three demos sent out, so this is really rare stuff and holds some of the darkest and coldest moments ever recorded by SWALLOW THE SUN.

"Out of This Gloomy Light" demo track listing:

01. Through Her Silvery Body
02. Out of This Gloomy Light
03. Under the Waves
04. Swallow (Horror Pt. 1)

Russia's The MetalList has posted fan-filmed video footage of SWALLOW THE SUN's performance at the Doom Festival III, which took place April 19, 2008 at club Tochka in Moscow. Watch one of the clips below.

Photos from the concert can be viewed at The MetalList.

"Hope", the third album by SWALLOW THE SUN, entered the Finnish national chart at position No. 3 back in February 2007. The follow-up to 2005's "Ghosts of Loss" was recorded at Seawolf Studios in Helsinki and was mastered at Finnvox studios with Minerva Pappi. The LP features a vocal appearance by Jonas Renkse of KATATONIA on the song "The Justice of Suffering".


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).