STONE TEMPLE PILOTS: More 'Alive In The Windy City' DVD, Blu-Ray Details Revealed

Eagle Rock Entertainment has set June 26 as the release date for "Alive In The Windy City", the first-ever STONE TEMPLE PILOTS concert to be authorized by the band for commercial video release.

Filmed in state-of-the-art high-definition, recorded in DTS-HD Master Audio and LPCM Stereo, STONE TEMPLE PILOTS performed a high-octane show at the sold-out Riviera Theatre in Chicago, Illinois. This March 2010 concert blended new songs from their self-titled sixth album with classic hits from the inception of their career. Vocalist Scott Weiland, bassist Robert DeLeo, guitarist Dean DeLeo and drummer Eric Kretz erupted with a stop-on-a-dime tight, blistering set that included "Interstate Love Song", "Plush", "Vasoline", "Creep", "Sex Type Thing" and "Big Empty". The 18-song show is complemented with bonus exclusive band member interviews — total running time is 92 minutes.

"Alive In The Windy City" track listing:

01. Vasoline
02. Crackerman
03. Wicked Garden
04. Hollywood Bitch
05. Between The Lines
06. Hickory Dichotomy
07. Big Empty
08. Sour Girl
09. Creep
10. Plush
11. Interstate Love Song
12. Bagman
13. Huckleberry Crumble
14. Sex Type Thing
15. Dead And Bloated
16. Lounge Fly
17. Piece Of Pie
18. Trippin' On A Hole In A Paper Heart

STONE TEMPLE PILOTS has revealed that it will launch a tour on September 1 in Hershey, Pennsylvania to celebrate the 20th anniversary of its 1992 debut disc, "Core". According to Rolling Stone, the band will play the album in its entirety on the trek, with singer Scott Weiland saying, "I think it'll be really fun, because the one thing that I got tired of was sort of playing the same basic set list every night. It was like, 'the hits.' This way, it's something different, and I think it will be cool."

Asked which song from "Core" he's most looking forward to revisiting, Weiland replied, "What comes to mind is the first song that we ever wrote with all of us in the band, when we had our first rehearsal with Dean. He had this guitar riff that turned into 'Where the River Goes'. We haven't played that song in a long time, so I'm looking forward to that."

Weiland also said that he's "sure" STP will record another brand new album at some point. He told The Pulse Of Radio a while back that the other three members of the group will start coming up with music before he gets involved in the process. "They usually start before me, just kind of getting like some rough ideas together and then putting a rough idea, a rough mix down on Pro Tools with no lyrics and no melody," he said. "And I start listening to it and see if it's a straight-ahead rock 'n' roll record or if it's more of a concept album."

Weiland also has a new solo track out now called "Breathe", which appears on "Avengers Assemble", the soundtrack to "The Avengers".

The disc came out on May 1 with the movie opening on May 4. The singer said about the tune, "I thought that it fit the idea — I haven't seen the film yet, but just thematically, it fit. And I'm happy to be a part of it."


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).