SCYTHIA: 'Bear Claw Tavern' Video Released

SCYTHIA: 'Bear Claw Tavern' Video Released

"Bear Claw Tavern", the new video from Canadian metallers SCYTHIA, can be seen below. The old world-themed clip, directed by fantasy movie director Richard Olak and filmed at the Storm Crow Tavern in the band's hometown of Vancouver, B.C., is an uproarious three-minute scorcher featuring the band rocking out in a medieval tavern filled with hooligans and mysterious characters. The video also features a dwarven troublemaker that gets himself into hot water when he decides to irritate a "wizened" old man.

"Bear Claw Tavern" is the first single from SCYTHIA's upcoming melodic, power/folk fusion record, "…Of Conquest". The album, which also includes progressive and death metal influences, is engineered/produced by Lasse Lammert (ALESTORM, GLORYHAMMER, HALCYON WAY, SVARSOT) at LSD Studios in Lubeck, Germany, with co-production by Shaun Thingvold (STRAPPING YOUNG LAD, LAMB OF GOD, FEAR FACTORY). The album is mixed by Nino Laurenne (ENSIFERUM, WINTERSUN, KIUAS, FIREWIND) at Sonic Pump Studios in Helsinki, Finland. Mastering credits go to Svante Forsback (RAMMSTEIN, FIREWIND, KORPIKLAANI, APOCALYPTICA) at Chartmakers in Helsinki, Finland.

"…Of Conquest" is set to arrive in early 2014.

The track listing for the CD is as follows:

01. Fanfare 1516
02. Merchant Of Sin
03. Bear Claw Tavern
04. Sailor's Accolade
05. Reflections
06. The Kraken
07. Into The Storm
08. Land Of Scythia
09. Wrath Of The Ancients
10. Army Of The Bear
11. Path Through The Labyrinth
12. Departure

Formed in 2008, SCYTHIA's music is recognized throughout their home country for its rich, poetic storytelling and epic melodies. Because of this, and touring like a cavalry of nomads, they have taken the independent scene by storm as they gather more and more fans both domestically and internationally.

SCYTHIA delivered its first album, "Of War", in 2010.


Dave Khan - Guitar, Main Vocals
Terry Savage - Bass, Harsh Vocals
Jeff Black - Keyboards, Back-Up Vocals
Celine Derval - Drums, Back-Up Vocals