SCARS ON BROADWAY: 'They Say' Video Available

"They Say", the new video from SCARS ON BROADWAY the new band from SYSTEM OF A DOWN guitarist Daron Malakian and drummer John Dolmayan can be viewed below. The clip, shot in Los Angeles earlier this month, was directed by Paul Minor (MUSE, QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE) and incorporates performance footage cut with an evocative potpourri of startling images from our world's culture occurrences in nature, war, natural and man-made disasters, animals in the wild, human interaction, weather phenomenon, and so on.

SCARS ON BROADWAY will release its self-titled debut on July 29 via Interscope Records. Daron Malakian and John Dolmayan held off on shopping for a record contract until completing the CD. Malakian told The Pulse of Radio that the music won't be as heavy as his work with SYSTEM. "There are your aggressive moments, but I don't see it as being as metal as it is rock," he said. "It's just as eclectic as anything that I've done with SYSTEM, so it goes place to place. I think you'll hear my style there, you know, you'll hear touches of what you've heard from me before in some ways, and like I said, I think it drives more in a rock way than it does in a metal way."

The track listing for the effort is as follows:

01. Serious
02. Funny
03. Exploding/Reloading
04. Stoner-Hate
05. Insane
06. World Long Gone
07. Kill Each Other/Live Forever
08. Babylon
09. Chemicals
10. Enemy
11. Universe
12. 3005
13. Cute Machines
14. Whoring Streets
15. They Say

Both SCARS ON BROADWAY and SYSTEM lead singer Serj Tankian declined to release their latest projects through Columbia Records, where SYSTEM has been signed since 1998.

Tankian's debut solo effort, "Elect the Dead", came out last fall through the Warner Music Group.

SCARS ON BROADWAY will headline its first North American tour, performing in some two dozen cities during October and November.

The band made its live debut in April with a low-key show at the Whisky A-Go Go in Los Angeles, followed by a slot at the Coachella Festival in Indio, California. Tankian's solo band also played at Coachella.

SYSTEM OF A DOWN has been on hiatus since 2006 while its members have pursued various personal projects.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).