NIGHTWISH Plays Final Show Of 'Dark Passion Play' Tour; Setlist Revealed

Finnish/Swedish symphonic metallers NIGHTWISH played a special homecoming show last night (Saturday, September 19) at the sold-out, 11,000-capacity Hartwall Arena in Helsinki to mark the end of the band's colossal "Dark Passion Play" world tour. Support at the gig came from APOCALYPTICA.

NIGHTWISH's setlist was as follows:

01. Intro - Finlandia (w/ U.K. multi-instrumentalist Troy Donockley)
02. 7 Days To The Wolves
03. Ever Dream
04. Wishmaster
05. Romanticide
06. Amaranth
07. The Siren (w/ Finnish violinist Pekka Kuusisto)
08. While Your Lips Are Still Red (w/ Finnish violinist Pekka Kuusisto)
09. Poet And The Pendulum
10. Nemo
11. Sahara
12. Dark Chest Of Wonders
13. The Islander
14. Walking In The Air (w/ U.K. multi-instrumentalist Troy Donockley)
15. Last Of The Wilds (w/ U.K. multi-instrumentalist Troy Donockley)
16. Meadows Of Heaven
17. Ghost Love Score
18. I Wish I Had An Angel

Fan-filmed video footage of the concert's final song can be viewed below.

NIGHTWISH is not expected to play any more shows until the release of the band's next studio album, which will arrive in 2011.

NIGHTWISH's previous concert at the Hartwall Arena in October 2005 was recorded and released as the highly successful "End Of An Era" DVD.

"Made In Hong Kong (And In Various Other Places)", the most recent CD/DVD from NIGHTWISH, entered the German Media Control chart at position No. 15. It also opened at No. 2 in Finland and dropped down to No. 5 in its second week of release.

Released on March 13 via Nuclear Blast Records, "Made In Hong Kong (And In Various Other Places)" contains a DVD documentary (with a running time of approximately 45 minutes) of NIGHTWISH's world tour in support of the band's latest album, "Dark Passion Play", as well as a CD featuring live recordings from the trek. The documentary footage was directed by Ville Lipiäinen.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).