MICHAEL SWEET Wrote Seven New STRYPER Songs In Four Days

MICHAEL SWEET Wrote Seven New STRYPER Songs In Four Days

STRYPER frontman Michael Sweet says that he has already written seven songs for the band's next studio album. The follow-up to 2018's "God Damn Evil" will be recorded in January and February and released in the summer.

On Thursday, Sweet took to his social media to write: "I started writing for the new STRYPER album on Monday. I have 7 songs so far. I guess I'm on a roll.

"Some people have said that I should spend more time. Why? Most of the songs from our biggest selling albums were written in less than an hour.

"Writing songs has always come easy for me. I don't however take that for granted. I'm very thankful for the gifts that God has given me and I always give Him the glory.

"I just wanted to let you all know that it's sounding absolutely stellar and it will be our best! For anyone thinking 'he always says that', well I'm always right in that regard aren't I?

"In all seriousness, this album will be absolutely amazing. It will make you a fan if you're not and it will make you an even bigger fan if you are."

This past September, Sweet told The Metal Voice about the musical direction of STRYPER's next disc: "It's gonna be aligned with the last album, but taking it a step further. We're gonna do some things where people are gonna hear it and go, 'You've gotta be kidding me,' that's gonna surprise and shock people in a really good way. It's gonna be a metal album — it's not gonna be a pop album or pop-rock or glam metal and all these silly terms. It's gonna be a metal album. And we're gonna really pull some things out of the hat, man, and try to blow people's minds."

Formed 36 years ago, STRYPER is the first overtly Christian metal band to go mainstream. The group's name comes from Isaiah 53:5, which states: "But he was wounded for our transgressions, he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and with his stripes we are healed."

STRYPER's albums include "To Hell With The Devil", "Second Coming", "No More Hell To Pay", "Fallen" and the aforementioned "God Damn Evil".

Sweet's tenth solo album, "Ten", was released in October via Rat Pak Records in North America and Frontiers Music Srl in Europe.

I started writing for the new Stryper album on Monday. I have 7 songs so far. I guess I’m on a roll.

Some people have...

Posted by Michael Sweet on Thursday, December 5, 2019


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).