Legendary Drummer VINNY APPICE Featured On MARTIRIA's New Album

Legendary Drummer VINNY APPICE Featured On MARTIRIA's New Album

Italy's MARTIRIA will release its new album, "R-evolution", on February 10, 2014 via Rocksector Records. The CD celebrates the 10th anniversary of the band's first album, "The Eternal Soul", and includes a guest appearance on all tracks by legendary drummer Vinny Appice (KILL DEVIL HILL, BLACK SABBATH, HEAVEN & HELL, DIO).

Based in Rome, MARTIRIA was originally formed in 1987, focusing mainly on playing doom metal. After a several-year hiatus while the members pursued other projects, the band regrouped in 2002 and released the aforementioned debut in 2004. A further four albums followed, including 2012's "Roma S.P.Q.R."
MARTIRIA went through several lineup changes over the years — former members include Rick Anderson (WARLORD) — culminating in the band's 2013 incarnation: Andy Menario (guitar and keyboards), Flavio Cosma (vocals), Derek Maniscalco (bass), Vinny Appice (drums), Marco R. Capelli (lyrics).

The resulting style of "R-evolution" is a combination of the band's original doom metal vision, including references to the sounds of CANDLEMASS and BLACK SABBATH, mixed with the uplifting influences of classic and power metal. There's drama and poerty in the superb vocals and lyrics, while the soundscape is epic and moving. Finally, of course, the drumming of Vinny Appice adds a further dimension of undeniable quality.

The relationship with Vinny Appice was forged when in 2006 both Andy Menario and Marco R. Capelli worked with the drummer on the POWER PROJECT, which also featured Carl Sentance (ex-KROKUS), Carlos Cavazo (ex-QUIET RIOT), and Jeff Pilson (ex-DOKKEN).

"R-evolution" will be released physically in Europe, and digitally worldwide. A pre-order package will be available from January 10.

"R-evolution" track listing:

01. King Of Shadows (Orpheus)
02. Steam Power
03. Southern Seas
04. Salem
05. The Road To Tenochtitlan
06. Grim Reaper
07. Light Brigade
08. Dark Angels
09. Revolution
10. The Mark Of Cain
11. The Viol And The Abyss
12. Across The Mountains
13. Tsushima

The CD was mixed and mastered at Antfarm Studio in Denmark by Tue Madsen (THE HAUNTED, MNEMIC, HATESPHERE, EKTOMORF). The drums were recorded at Freedom Studio in the U.S. by Thomas Le Blanc.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).