KING'S X Frontman DOUG 'DUG' PINNICK To Release Fifth Solo Album 'Joy Bomb'

KING'S X Frontman DOUG 'DUG' PINNICK To Release Fifth Solo Album 'Joy Bomb'

KING'S X frontman Doug "dUg" Pinnick will release his fifth solo album, "Joy Bomb", on October 15 via Rat Pak Records. Pinnick's first solo album of new material since 2013's "Naked" features thirteen brand new tracks.

"'Joy Bomb' is a collection of tunes I've been writing for the last two years," Doug says. "The pandemic has made me go deeper into myself and how to deal with everything and everyone in a new way. These songs are all about truth the way I see it, and I'm thankful that at 71 I can still make music that hopefully matters. 'Joy Bomb' is my latest offer."

From the charging rhythms of album opener "Jon Boy" all the way through the barnstorming closing track "Making Sense Of The Bones", Doug proves that age is nothing to him and provides an album packed with the groove, swagger, and soul that he has honed and perfected over his extensive career. Doug's ability to combine a multitude of his influences into one seamless offering is on full display, tapping into everyone from RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE to Sly Stone to BLACK SABBATH. "A Long Way From Home", "Like A Wolf" and "The Poison" show why Doug is still one of the best in metal and rock, while "I Can't Fight This Feeling", "Social Distancing" and "Long Live Love" exemplify his ability to think outside the box and expand his range.

"Joy Bomb" track listing

01. Jon Boy
02. A Long Way From Home
03. Key Changer
04. Equally Divided
05. I Can't Fight This Feeling
06. Like A Wolf
07. Social Distancing
08. Love And Fear
09. Long Live Love
10. Slaves
11. The Poison
12. Making Sense Of The Bones
13. Like A Wolf (Reprise)

Pinnick is known first and foremost as the soulful singer and bassist for hard rockers KING'S X. Throughout the band's lengthy and legendary career, KING'S X released twelve albums and influenced the likes of PEARL JAM, SOUNDGARDEN, DREAM THEATER, PANTERA, and many more. Throughout the early 21st century, Pinnick remained the "go-to singer" of rock — as evidenced by his appearance on recordings by first-rate rockers including Jeff Ament, Eric Gales, George Lynch, Ray Luzier, and many more. Doug has issued other solo albums under his own name, including 2005's "Emotional Animal", 2006's "Songs From The Closet", 2007's "Strum Sum Up", and 2013's "Naked".


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).