KATATONIA: 'Live Consternation' Live Album/DVD Due In May

KATATONIA's live performance from last year's Summer Breeze open-air festival in Germany will be released as a double-disc live album/DVD, entitled "Live Consternation", on May 28. The "super jewelcase" packaging will feature both the audio on CD and the show on DVD (including both 2.0 and 5.1 versions). The artwork was once again designed by Travis Smith and will close the visual concept for "The Great Cold Distance" phase. The track listing will be as follows:

01. Leaders
02. Wealth
03. Soil's Song
04. Had to (Leave)
05. Cold Ways
06. Right into the Bliss
07. Ghost of the Sun
08. Criminals
09. Deliberation
10. July
11. Evidence

KATATONIA's brand new video for the song "July", shot and directed by Charlie Granberg, has been posted online at YouTube.com.

Commented Granberg: "It's basically a perfomance video. But I wanted the feeling of the band playing in a very rough, abandonded or even bombed out house, in an extremely warm country like Mexico or somewere in the middle east. Dark on the inside, but with sunbeams searching their way through the dust, hitting the bandmembers here and there. I really wanted the feeling of the outside world being so much better and brighter than the place the band is in. The biggest challenge with this video I think, was that I wanted to use really warm and grainy colours, wich is kinda rare in this type of music, but at the same time wrap it in a gloomy, apocalyptic feeling. But I think the balance is there and I'm happy the band liked it so much."

As previously reported, Peaceville has pushed the release date of the physical "July" CD single to April 9, but pre-orders are now being taken from Snapper Music. The digital download was released on February 26 and can be purchased from iTunes, Napster, Sonicstage and Emusic. In addition to the title track, the single includes a brand new/previously unreleased song called "Unfurl", a remix of "Soil's Song" by Krister Linder, and the video for "July".


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).