3 INCHES OF BLOOD: First Album To Be Released In U.S. With Bonus Tracks

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada-based metal band 3 INCHES OF BLOOD's first album, "Battlecry Under a Wintersun", will be released in the U.S. on Tuesday, February 3, 2009 and in Canada on Tuesday, February 24, 2009. It will be made available by Sonic Unyon and distributed by Caroline Distribution in the U.S.

As a special treat for all who have waited to get it, there will be four bonus tracks included on the album that were previously unavailable outside of the U.K.

"Battlecry Under a Wintersun" (U.S. release) track listing:

01. Ride, Darkhorse Ride
02. Destroy the Orcs
03. Headwaters of the River of Blood
04. Heir to the Chaos Throne
05. Skeletal Onslaught
06. Journey to the Promiseland
07. Lady Deathwish
08. Curse of the Lighthouse Keeper
09. Blazing Fires of Evermore
10. Hall of Heroes
11. Balls of Ice

Bonus tracks:

12. Sunrise Over the Fjords
13. Conquerors of the Northern Sphere
14. Onward to Valhalla
15. Tonight We Rejoice

3 INCHES OF BLOOD is rumored to be in talks with Century Media Records about a new record deal following the band's split with Roadrunner.

Capital Chaos has posted video footage (see below) of 3 INCHES OF BLOOD performing on January 12, 2009 at The Boardwalk in Orangevale, California. Also on the bill were SEXCIETY, TOXIC HOLOCAUST and EARLY MAN.

MetalSucks writer David Bee Roth recently conducted an interview with 3 INCHES OF BLOOD vocalist Cam Pipes before the band's hometown show in Vancouver with BISON B.C. Pipes spoke about touring in support of the band's most recent record, the band's split with Roadrunner Records, writing new material, and what the future holds for 3 INCHES OF BLOOD. An excerpt from the chat follows below.

MetalSucks: One of the major events this year is that you've split with Roadrunner Records. What happened to that relationship between the label and the band?

Cam Pipes: It was time for them to decide if they were going to pick up the option for the next record. They didn't and we're happy about it because we didn't really like being with that label. There was a lot of things inside the label that we didn't like in terms of how they showed their support for us and how they pushed our band in the press. We really didn't see eye to eye on a lot of things. They're a really big corporate label now owned by Warner, so they're moving strictly in a "We want to make money" direction and we weren't putting up the numbers that they would have liked to see. We got dropped on the priority list time and time again and then they finally decided that it wasn't economically viable to keep releasing this band. It's enabled us to be a lot more creative on where we want to go. We're not tied down to a long term contract anymore, so we can go explore other options and hopefully we'll be a little more free to do certain things with a label that's a lot more focused to promote us in a better way and [is] more geared towards our style.

MetalSucks: Are you looking for a label right now or are you happy to be an unsigned touring band?

Cam Pipes: We started looking for labels right off the bat and we're still weighing our options, but we think we might be getting close. I'm not going to give away any names of potential labels right now but something could happen soon. We're going to keep writing either way. That was always our focus to just be writing around this time and putting out new songs.

To read the rest of the interview, visit MetalSucks.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).