Former ANTHRAX Guitarist's RED LAMB Signs With MIG RECORDS

RED LAMB, the band led by former ANTHRAX guitarist Dan Spitz, has inked a deal with MIG Records.

Says Spitz: "I am so happy to have found the perfect fit for RED LAMB (in most countries outside of the U.S.) with MIG Records.

"I have known Rainer Hänsel at MIG since the first tour of Europe with ANTHRAX.

"MIG is a wonderful company headed by Manfred Schütz, who believes in the unique mission I am on and the new paths that must be administered in the music arena to get where I want to go. I'm absolutely positive Universal distribution, who is partners with MIG, will be a wonderful avenue for RED LAMB's music to get in the hands of all that love metal.

"This record deal will not extend to Mars, where I also have my guitar riffs playing in the Top 10 charts. I am now searching for an intergalactic record deal for those areas, but so far... no luck.

"The connection was made by Tammy Taylor at Artist International to whom I thank so very much deep down in my heart for all her hard work.

"Release date for Europe is expected in late September early October, with many live shows commencing thereafter."

RED LAMB's self-titled debut album was released in February via iTunes. The 12-song effort was co-produced by Dave Mustaine (MEGADETH) and Spitz and is described in a press release as "explosive hard rock, pop punk, alternative rock, with a taste of thrash." The CD was mixed by Grammy-nominated producer Johnny K (DISTURBED, 3 DOORS DOWN, DROWNING POOL, MEGADETH) and it features cover artwork by John Lorenzi, who worked on the last three MEGADETH studio albums — 2007's "United Abominations", 2009's "Endgame" and 2011's "TH1RT3EN" — as well as the band's 2007 box set, "Warchest". Grammy Award winner Chris Vrenna (NINE INCH NAILS, MARILYN MANSON) handled all synths and additional programming on the entire CD.

RED LAMB features Spitz (lead guitar, guitar, bass guitar, programming, background vocals, engineering, co-producer), Patrick Johansson (drums; YNGWIE MALMSTEEN, W.A.S.P.) and Don Chaffin (vocals and video productions).

"Red Lamb" track listing:

01. Watchman
02. The Cage
03. Get Up
04. Runaway Train
05. Angels Of War
06. Puzzle Box
07. Keep Pushing Me
08. Warpaint
09. One Shell (In The Chamber)
10. Standby Passenger
11. Temptation
12. Don't Threaten To Love Me

"The Cage" video can be seen below.

In a recent interview with Metal Insider, Spitz stated about Mustaine's involvement with RED LAMB, "Dave heard what used to be my project [DEUXMONKEY] before RED LAMB and we were just cruising into the studio in one of his crazy cars, I think it was an Aston Martin or something. And he just fell in love with the music, and as a friend offered, 'Can I take this from you and kind of help?' At that point in time, I was wearing 50 hats, so it became quite difficult. It was just a blessing for Dave to say, 'Yeah, absolutely!' and that's where we started. His credit is he's a co-producer; we worked together on taking that material that was already recorded. All the music was done by me and recorded and we edited the music and moved verses and choruses around, shortening songs and got rid of the seven-minute solo if there was one. [laughs] . . . Dave worked with Donnie consistently day in day out on all the vocals. . . And previous to that, via electronic means, meaning e-mail and so forth, me and Dave took all the lyrics that I had written for the CD and we dissected those the same way we dissected the music. And Dave co-wrote every song on the album with me as far as the lyrics go and so that's his role in it. He's the co-writer on every song. So it's a wonderful collaboration."

"Puzzle Box" video:

"The Cage" video:


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).