DORO: 'Warrior Soul' North American Release Date Announced

Locomotive Records has set a May 23 North American release date for the new DORO album, entitled "Warrior Soul". The album was created in Switzerland, Tennessee, New York and Germany; and inspired by her first feature film role earlier this year in Luke Gasser's "Anuk - The Warrior's Way". The sound returns Doro to the ways of her first band, WARLOCK, which she fronted to forever change the face of modern metal music. It stands in perfect contrast to her last opus, 2004's "Classic Diamonds", in which she stretched out to perform decidedly non-metal ballads and mid-tempo rockers with a symphony orchestra. Here — with bassist Nick Douglas, guitarist Joe Taylor, keyboardist Oliver Palotai and drummer Johnny DeeDoro is back to major league metal form, hard-charging through 12 tracks in a beefy 54:10.

Doro, thoughout her life, has always been a warrior, a fighter, from the time she was a kid growing up in Dusseldorf, Germany, battling pulmonary tuberculosis, to the time she first started writing and performing, bucking the odds as a woman in a man's world of metal. That world has now drastically changed, and a generation of gutsy independent female metalfolk have her to thank. "Warrior Soul" continues the evolution of not only this particular artist, but state-of-the-art 2006 heavy metal.

"Warrior Soul" track listing

01. You're My Family
02. Haunted Heart
03. Strangers Yesterday
04. Thunderspell
05. Warrior Soul
06. Heaven I See
07. Creep Into My Brain
08. Above The Ashes
09. My Majesty
10. In Liebe Und Freundschaft
11. Ungebrochen
12. Shine On


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).