DON DOKKEN's 'Solitary' Solo Album To Be Reissued With Three Bonus Tracks

DON DOKKEN's 'Solitary' Solo Album To Be Reissued With Three Bonus Tracks

DOKKEN vocalist Don Dokken's "Solitary" solo album will be reissued on January 31 via Deadline Music, a division of Cleopatra Records, Inc. The new version of the disc will contain three bonus tracks, including a cover version of Celine Dion's "My Heart Will Go On", which was the theme to the most romantic scene in the movie "Titanic".

"We're gonna put out my solo record, 'Solitary', which never was [properly] released," Don told Focus On Metal last year. "I wrote that thing [nine] years ago. And I added three more songs to it to make it a 12-song CD. I did three new songs. They're not 'new' songs — they're covers — but they're really beautiful. I did the 'Titanic' song by Celine Dion. I redid it, which is, like… Everybody said nobody can do the 'Titanic' song, 'cause you can't compete with that [original] version; it's brilliant. But I Don Dokken-ized it. And I did a song called 'Jealous' by [English electronic musician] Labrinth; I redid that. And I played the piano on that and sang it, and that came out really beautiful. And 'All That Love Can Be', also written by the same person [Oscar-winning composer James Horner] that wrote the 'Titanic' song. 'Cause he passed away — the writer — he was killed in a plane crash [in 2015], a famous composer. So it's kind of a tribute. He was a friend of mine. We were the same age; our birthdays were a month apart. So it's a bit of an homage to him, with the exception of the song 'Jealous'."

"Solitary" was originally only made available at select shows during a small run of acoustic gigs that Don Dokken did as the opening act for QUEENSRŸCHE in 2008. It was later released in digital format in 2014.

Joining Dokken on "Solitary" were THE FIRM and BLUE MURDER bassist Tony Franklin, guitarists Wyn Davis, Michael Thompson and Steve Ornest, drummers Frank Lentz, Gary Ferguson and Vinnie Colaiuta, and BATON ROUGE singer Kelly Keeling.

"Solitary" was Don's first solo release since 1990's "Up From The Ashes".

"Solitary" re-release track listing:

01. In The Meadow
02. I'll Never Forget
03. Where The Grass Is Green
04. Jealous
05. Ship Of Fools
06. You Are Everything
07. Venice
08. Sarah
09. My Heart Will Go On
10. The Tragedy
11. Someday
12. All That Love Can Be

DOKKEN is currently working on material on a new studio album, tentatively due later this year via Silver Lining Music, the label owned by Thomas Jensen, one of the founders of Germany's Wacken Open Air festival. The group's first disc since 2012's "Broken Bones" will feature DOKKEN's current lineup — which includes Dokken, bassist Chris McCarvill and guitarist Jon Levin.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).