Mighty Music has announced the signing of Florida death metal veterans BRUTALITY. The band's comeback album, "Sea Of Ignorance" — which was originally issued in 2016 — will be re-released in Europe on May 26 on LP, CD and digital. A new studio effort is planned for 2018.

BRUTALITY has been devastating the underground since 1986. In 1988, they released their first demo, "Brutality", which gained them recognition in the underground fanzines. Their second demo, "Dimension Demented", was recorded in 1990, and a seven-inch EP called "Hell On Earth" was issued via Gore Records.

1991 saw the arival of "Metamorphosis", a cassette EP that received worldwide distribution on Wild Rags Records.

After necessary lineup changes in 1992, the band propelled forward and into the studio to record a new demo. The band utilized this demo to shop for a record deal and found interest from many different labels. They signed with Nuclear Blast and released a two-song seven-inch EP called "Sadistic".

BRUTALITY's first album, "Screams Of Anguish", was released in 1993. They toured with HYPOCRISY in Europe and crushed venues with their dark metal riffs. The band's second album, "When The Sky Turns Black", came out in 1994. The release of "When The Sky Turns Black" was followed by a European tour with BOLT THROWER and CEMETERY.

With continued efforts to improve their sound and direction, additional lineup changes were made in 1995 and they started writing their third album, "In Mourning". The disc was released in 1996.

After years of hard work, BRUTALITY decided to disband to pursue family life and careers away from music.

All three of BRUTALITY's albums were re-mastered and released in 2008 on Metal Mind Productions with unreleased bonus tracks.

In 2012, BRUTALITY reformed and released the EP "Ruins Of Humanity" on CD in the U.S. and on seven-inch EP vinyl in Europe through Mighty Music.

"Sea Of Ignorance" was originally released in the States and South America through BRUTALITY's own label in 2016.

BRUTALITY 2017 is:

Scott Reigel - Vocals
Jeff Acres - Bass and Vocals
Jay Fernandez - Lead Guitar
Ruston Grosse - Drums


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).