BLACKGUARD: Another Song From Debut Album Posted Online

Montreal-based sympho/black/folk/power metal act BLACKGUARD (formerly PROFUGUS MORTIS) has posted the song "This Round's On Me" on the group's MySpace page. The track comes off the band's debut album, "Profugus Mortis", which will be released on March 20 in Europe via Nuclear Blast Records and on April 28 in North America through Sumerian Records.

The track listing for the CD is as follows:

01. Scarlet To Snow
02. This Round's On Me
03. Allegiance
04. I Demon
05. The Sword
06. In Time
07. Cinder
08. Vain
09. The Last We Wage

Commented Jaap Wagemaker of Nuclear Blast: "When we decided to organize a MySpace contest where up and coming (unsigned) bands could win a record deal with Nuclear Blast, we never expected that we would receive almost 3,000 entries to check out over the five months of this competition! We want to thank all the bands that have participated on this contest trying to fullfil their dreams for a record deal! After listening to all the almost 3,000 bands and making a final selection, we have found a winner!! Nuclear Blast is really proud to announce the signing of a very young and talented new band from Canada — BLACKGUARD!!! I am sure you have seen the name online already as they are booked on the Paganfest in the U.S.!! The band has already finished recording their debut album, 'Profugus Mortis'! The album will be out March 20 and I can promise you this will appeal to all fans of bands like WINTERSUN, ENSIFERUM and KORPIKLAANI, but with more brutal vocals! The musicianship is outstanding! Needless to say that we are very proud to have found this diamond in the rough! BLACKGUARD will be one of the most important bands for Nuclear Blast in 2009 and beyond!!"

Stated Shawn Keith of Sumerian Records: "This is a band that combines tasteful shredding with epic melodic metal riffs, carrying the message of brotherhood through the best and worst of times all the while bringing the party in a live show setting through the spirit of folk music. With that being said, we are very excited to announce that BLACKGUARD is now officially part of the Sumerian Records family. We are also excited about working closely with Nuclear Blast and the synergy we will have together as we build this band in to a worldwide monster. BLACKGUARD will be participating in Paganfest America II this April/May with KORPIKLAANI, ELUVEITIE, PRIMORDIAL and more. Their debut album, 'Profugus Mortis', will hit United States stores everywhere April 28. As we prepare for battle, THIS ROUND'S ON US!"

Maurizio Iacono of Rock the Nation/Impact Management said: "We are finally happy to announce new homes for these Canadian scene veterans and folk/extreme metal innovators, I was sold on BLACKGUARD (formely PROFUGUS MORTIS) the moment I saw this band live in Montreal two years ago and we waited for the right moment an its now time to unleash the beast to the masses!! We had some very big interest for BLACKGUARD's new album from various labels but we felt the best way to go was with Nuclear Blast (world) and with Sumerian Records (USA) both labels have an outstanding track record and showed us the ambiton we needed to see. So raise your glasses of beer and let's celebrate at Paganfest!!!"

Vocalist Paul Zinay of BLACKGUARD added: "We're all ecstatic to find out that we were chosen by Nuclear Blast as their contest winners . To be able to work with such a prestigious label is an honour and a privilege. As we head into 2009 we're all confident that this is going to be a huge year for us, and with Nuclear Blast behind us, there's no reason why it shouldn't."


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).