BARREN EARTH: 'The Devil's Resolve' Artwork, Track Listing Revealed

Finnish progressive death metallers BARREN EARTH will release their sophomore full-length album, "The Devil's Resolve", in North America on March 13 via Peaceville Records. The effort will be made available on CD and vinyl, with artwork provided by notable U.S.-based artist Paul Romano (MASTODON).

Mixed by Dan Swanö (OPETH, KATATONIA) at Unisound in Sweden, "The Devil's Resolve" continues with all the trademarks one has come to associate with BARREN EARTH: brutal riffs, gloomy growls, majestic melodies, as well as acoustic and progressive passages. But this time the band has delved even deeper, taking this sophomore effort to the extremes through musical landscapes encompassing brutal death metal, doomy vocals, trippy 70's prog lunacy, pastoral passages and even bagpipes.

"The Devil's Resolve" track listing:

01. Passing Of The Crimson Shadows
02. The Rains Begin
03. Vintage Warlords
04. As It Is Written
05. The Dead Exiles
06. Oriental Pyre
07. White Field
08. Where All Stories End
09. Martyrs of Devotion (special edition)
10. World in Haze (special edition)


Mikko Kotamäki (SWALLOW THE SUN) - Vocals
Olli-Pekka Laine (ex-AMORPHIS, MANNHAI) - Bass
Kasper Mårtenson (ex-AMORPHIS, BEN GRANFELT BAND) - Keyboards
Janne Perttilä (RYTMIHÄIRIÖ) - Guitar
Marko Tarvonen (MOONSORROW) - Drums
Sami Ylisirniö (KREATOR, WALTARI) - Guitar


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).