BABYMETAL Lands Second U.K. Top 20 Album With 'Metal Galaxy'

BABYMETAL Lands Second U.K. Top 20 Album With 'Metal Galaxy'

Dance-metal sensation BABYMETAL has achieved another first, becoming the only Japanese band to ever land two Top 20 albums in the official U.K. chart.

The band's third album, "Metal Galaxy", was the No. 1 album in both the U.K. official rock albums chart and the U.K. official independent albums chart. The album finished at No. 19 in the U.K. official albums chart and was the second highest new release that week to ELBOW's "Giants Of All Sizes".

Internationally, the band saw its most successful first week ever outside of Japan, debuting at No. 2 on Billboard's Top Current Albums chart and No. 13 on the Billboard 200 — the highest position for a Japanese artist in chart history — and No. 18 in the Official German Albums chart, marking BABYMETAL's first Top 20s in both territories.

Five years and two albums removed from their viral single "Gimme Chocolate!" that saw hundreds of millions of streams across the world, the release of "Metal Galaxy" proves beyond a reasonable doubt that BABYMETAL has staying power. With this release, the band has achieved its best performing album to date by more than doubling U.S. album sales accompanied by its highest charting positions worldwide. The news caps off an incredible release week that also saw a show at The Forum in Los Angeles, the band's first-ever U.S. headlining arena concert.

"Metal Galaxy" was released on October 11 via earMUSIC/Edel. The follow-up to 2016's "Metal Resistance" is based on the concept of "The Odyssey Of Metal Galaxy".

"Metal Galaxy" contains 14 songs, including include the four singles that have been released over the course of the last few months: "Pa Pa Ya!!", "Starlight", "Distortion" and "Elevator Girl". The album expresses light and darkness, emotions like duality and ambivalence, and "new metal" created by various chemical reactions as other entities evolved and expanded in this album.

Just like the sun and the moon changes the appearance of this world with its daylight and moonlight, with evermore new type of various sound, BABYMETAL's music paints the metal galaxy in different colors.

The album includes five songs that feature guest appearances from worldwide musicians who were perfect to the character of each song.

Guitarist Tak Matsumoto from B'Z is featured on "Da Da Dance". Vocalist Joakim Brodén from SABATON is featured on "Oh! Majinai". Guitarist Tim Henson and Scott LePage from POLYPHIA are featured on "Brand New Day". Vocalist Alissa White-Gluz from ARCH ENEMY is featured on "Distortion". Rapper F.Hero is featured in "Pa Pa Ya!!" The guest musicians add more colors to the odyssey of the metal galaxy.

"Metal Galaxy" track listing:

01. Future Metal
02. Da Da Dance (feat. Tak Matsumoto)
03. Elevator Girl (English version)
04. Shanti Shanti Shanti
05. Oh! Majinai (feat. Joakim Brodén)
06. Brand New Day (feat. Tim Henson and Scott LePage)
07. Night Night Burn!
08. In The Name Of
09. Distortion (feat. Alissa White-Gluz)
10. Pa Pa Ya! ! (feat. F.Hero)
11. Kagerou
12. Starlight
13. Shine
14. Arkadia


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).