ATHEIST: Live Album Sample Available

Reactivated seminal technical metal pioneers ATHEIST are currently streaming the song "Unquestionable Presence" — taken from the forthcoming live album, entitled "Unquestionable Presence: Live At Wacken" — on their MySpace page.

"Unquestionable Presence: Live At Wacken" is scheduled for release on July 21 via Relapse Records. The set, which was mixed by Matt Washburn at LedBelly Sound Studio in Canton, Georgia, features the band's complete performance at the 2006 edition of the Wacken Open Air festival in Wacken, Germany along with a bonus disc featuring "essential ATHEIST tracks" hand-picked by the group. Also included is a 24-page booklet with extensive liner notes and photos.

ATHEIST vocalist Kelly Shaefer previously stated about the "Live At Wacken" release, "It's a very stripped-down, no-overdubs live recording from our appearance at Wacken Open Air in 2006 as part of the reunion dates we did. This was only the fourth show on what would become many. So why record the fourth show? Well, we did not actually ever intend on it, but we found out that Wacken had raw tracks that could be remixed, whereas most recordings we get are from soundboards, and you cannot turn up guitars, vocals etc. on those type of recordings. So... we obtained the raw tracks and have mixed eight tunes with Matt (MASTODON, GNOSTIC) at LedBelly studios in Atlanta. The results? A very, very live (mistakes and all) and raw set of tracks from the 'Piece of Time' and 'Unquestionable Presence' era of ATHEIST. It sounds surprisingly warm, and for those who were there in Germany that afternoon to see ATHEIST on what was probably one of the more 'magical' performances we have ever had as a band, it was really the first time we had played for people who had been around back in the early days of the band, and were now writers, or owned record companies, plus all of the new fans of this strange technical metal genre of music... This will encapsulate that experience for us, you and as well as those who were not there that day... It was a great day!

"Unquestionable Presence: Live At Wacken" track listing (first disc only):

01. Mother Man
02. Unquestionable Presence
03. Your Life's Retribution
04. Enthralled in Essence
05. Incarnation's Dream
06. Formative Years
07. Brains
08. And The Psychic Saw

Professionally filmed video footage of ATHEIST's performance at the 2006 edition of the Wacken Open Air festival in Wacken, Germany can be viewed below.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).