ABSU's 'Barathrum: V.I.T.R.I.O.L' To Be Re-Released On Triple Vinyl With Bonus Material

ABSU's "Barathrum: V.I.T.R.I.O.L" will be re-released on triple vinyl via The Crypt during the latter part of summer.

"Barathrum: V.I.T.R.I.O.L" was ABSU's first full-length album in 1993 for Gothic Records, which later secured the band a deal with its longtime label home Osmose Productions (before signing with Candlelight Records). This LP was the naissance of their blended style called "mythological occult metal."

The album's title is a Latin-based analogical acronym meaning Barathrum: Visita Interiora Terrae Rectificando Invenies Occultum Lapidem, which is translated as "The Abyss: We shall visit the interior parts of earth, by rectification; thou shall find the hidden stone."

The vinyl edition is limited to only 500 numbered copies (300: marbled black/red & 200: black) and comes on triple 180-gram vinyl. It will be packaged in a deluxe heavyweight gatefold sleeve featuring additional artwork by Polish artist Zbigniew Bielak (WATAIN, DESTROYER 666). The vinyl edition also features a 16-page booklet with never-before-seen photos and exclusive liner notes penned by drummer/vocalist Proscriptor, a timeline and a two-sided 24" x 36" poster.

Side 1:

Original Studio Album

01. An Involution Of Thorns
02. Descent To Acheron (Evolving Into The Progression Of Woe)
03. An Equinox Of Fathomless Disheartenment
04. The Thrice Is Greatest To Ninnigal

Side 2:

05. Infinite And Profane Thrones
06. Fantasizing To The Third Of The Pagan Vision (Quoth The Sky, Nevermore) Act II
07. An Evolution Of Horns

Side 3:

Live Tracks Taken From Osmose Productions Collector's Edition: Volume 2

08. The Coming Of War
09. The Thrice Is Greatest To Ninnigal
10. Never Blow Out The Eastern Candle

Side 4:

Alternate Album Mix

11. Descent To Acheron (Evolving Into The Progression Of Woe)
12. An Equinox Of Fathomless Disheartenment
13. The Thrice Is Greatest To Ninnigal
14. Infinite And Profane Thrones

Side 5:

15. Fantasizing To The Third Of The Pagan Vision (Quoth The Sky, Nevermore) Act II

The Temples Of Offal - 7" EP

16. Immortal Sorcery
17. Sumerian Sands
18. Disembodied

Side 6:

Return Of The Ancients - Demo

19. Immortal Sorcery
20. Eternal Rest
21. Sea Of Glasya
22. Dawn Of Invocation

Azathoth Composing Session – Pre-ABSU Rehearsal

23. Abhorred Xul

You can pre-order a copy at this location.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).