"We Hate You and Hope You Die"

(This Dark Reign)

01. Wizard Pimp
02. Pussy Witch
03. Black Maggot
04. Blood Sinner
05. Negative D
06. Don't Fear the Reefer
07. Roach Detector
08. Dirty Living

RATING: 7/10

With members of FISTULA, RUE, RUNE, and MADMAN MUNT, it is not much of a shock that on "We Hate You and Hope You Die" Ohio's ULTRALORD play uncompromising, sludge-drenched, anti-social grime metal. I wouldn't exactly call it a trailblazing or original release, but goddamn, it hits with all the subtly of a tire iron to the cranium.

The majority of the songs alternate between mid-to-up-tempo sludge thrashing and a slow, doom-laden churn, with the occasional Ginn-like (as in Greg and BLACK FLAG) guitar solo. Producer-on-the-rise Vince Burke (BEATEN BACK TO PURE) gives the guitars of Andy Strickland and Scott Stearns a vicious bite, and the rhythm section of bassist Bahb Branca and drummer Corey Bing a command presence and natural feel. The vocals are coarse, snotty, and pissed off, but generally intelligible. As mentioned above, songs like "Wizard Pimp", "Pussy Witch", "Black Maggot", and the downright violent "Don't Fear the Reefer" move from doom-plod groove to up-tempo and reckless slamming. And when it feels right, the boys ride a chug for as long as it takes for the eyeliner contingent to get up and leave. "Blood Sinner" has some especially crackling licks and a ripping attack that then gives way to a creepy/trippy part while a guitar solos in the midst of a steady beat and light riff. Three distinct and effective tempo shifts occur in "Negative D", including a gnarly doom crawl and mid-tempo, rolling SABBATH crush. Sludge sickness abounds on the three-minute "Roach Detector" (by far the album's shortest track) and the interestingly constructed (riff-wise) "Dirty Living".

This is over-amplified anger for the disaffected, and it is performed with the nasty disposition of a hung-over, three-day tweaker. Folks "in the know" about Ohio's east-side underground sludge/doom collective will find much to like here.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).