"The January Tree"

(InsideOut Music)

01. Spiders And Flies
02. Sirens
03. The Love...
04. Why?
05. The Coldest...
06. Wings Of Faith
07. Toy Rockets
08. Waiting...
09. Just Like...
10. Lady Of Rain

RATING: 6/10

"A tree in winter – naked, the leaves have fallen, it stretches its thin branches in desperation to the cloudy sky." This is the conceptual basis of "The January Tree", according to DEAD SOUL TRIBE mainman Devon Graves — a man perhaps better known as Buddy Lackey from his days in Californian proggers PSYCHOTIC WALTZ. Pretentious? Yes, perhaps, but what really strikes you about this album apart from the will to delve deeply into the mundane (hey, it's a prog thing) is the stark nature of the sound that stays within the cordons of its organic production and refuses point-blank to explode into any degree of riotous heavy metal mayhem.

Ye olde progressive influences are certainly swimming around in there — from the flutes that punctuate the guitar drone of "Wings Of Faith" to the wealth of sullen mood-switching that renders "Spiders and Flies" an epic of biblical proportions in just a second over six minutes — but still, rather curiously, "The January Tree" ends up actually being a very repetitive album on the whole. And the reason for this is fairly simple — Graves, by his own admission, is a big TOOL fan, and seeing as he gets his hands on every instrument on this album bar the drums (ably thumped by Abel Moustafa), we get lots of that "take a riff and loop it for minutes on end" thing that the aforementioned contemporary weird-proggers just love to do. Hence, the likes of "Sirens" and "The Coldest Day Of Winter", far from being disastrous pieces of music, are just very hard to stay with through their repetitive, blunted guitars and hugely understated vocals. "Waiting For The Answer" is underpinned by tribal rhythms, which you do get lost in to an extent, although you'd be hard-pushed to explain exactly why with anything approaching brimming enthusiasm.

Far more uplifting are the two closing tracks — "Just Like A Timepiece" and "Lady Of Rain". The former is actually a re-record of a track from one of Graves's early solo albums, so possesses a lot more variation and texture, where as the latter is a piano ballad with bags of charm.

Much like its wintery theme, this album is cold, somewhat desolate and strangely attractive in some aspects. You can only take so much cold before you earn for more warming, colorful sounds, though.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).