"Slaves Shall Serve"

(Century Media)

01. Slaves Shall Serve
02. Entering The Pylon Ov Light
03. Penetration
04. Until You Call On The Dark
05. Demigod (live)
06. Slaves Shall Serve (live)
07. Slaves Shall Serve (enhanced video clip)

RATING: 7/10

Some might view these limited edition releases as nothing more than a cash-grab to capitalize on the success of a band's most recent album, in this case BEHEMOTH's godly "Demigod". My attitude toward it is that these releases can also be an affordable way to get some cool material from your favorite band that you may not get from a regular release, so why bitch about it? BEHEMOTH's "Slaves Shall Serve" EP is limited to 5,000 copies and in addition to the title track (as found on "Demigod"), you get an unreleased song from the "Demigod" sessions, a couple of cover songs, a couple of live tracks, and the uncensored "Slaves Shall Serve" enhanced video clip.

Put simply, the EP is a nicely packaged and interestingly varied collection of tunes. We already know that the album version of "Slaves Shall Serve" is definitive BEHEMOTH (at least the "Demigod" era) with its rapid-fire drumming, staccato riff barrage and Nergal's possessed vocals. The previously unreleased "Entering the Pylon ov Light" (from the "Demigod" sessions) hardly seems like an outtake, as it is a strong tune in its own right. It must have been a difficult decision to leave it off the album, although I kind of hear how it wouldn't quite fit with the flow of songs from "Demigod", based on its structuring. Regardless, the song's modern black metal-esque chords, the odd NILE-esque element, and epic feel make it a strong addition to the EP.

The cover songs are both interesting choices, although I guess I shouldn't be surprised that DANZIG's "Until You Call on the Dark" (from "4") was included, given Nergal's stated appreciation of the man in black's work. It is not a huge departure from the original, the guitar tone, "deathed up" delivery and of course Nergal's vocals making the difference. FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM's "Penetration" did come as some surprise, which is why it is an intriguing cover choice. The keys in the background create a different kind of ambience, BEHEMOTH not surprisingly giving it a hard-driving treatment.

The disc's scorching live versions of "Demigod" and "Slaves Shall Serve" were both recorded at Sweden Rock Festival. The band's ferocious live energy is palpable and the sound quality is excellent. The uncensored video of "Slaves Shall Serve" is also included. Too bad I cannot get the clip to play in my computer. Anyway, if you're a fan, the EP is money well spent.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).