(Nuclear Blast)

01. Humanaut
02. In The Nothingness Black
03. Meaningless
04. Psykorgasm
05. Pigfuck
06. In Control
07. Electric I'd Hypocrisy
08. Stuck Here
09. What's Left
10. Shape Of The Formless
11. The Eye On Your Back

RATING: 7.5/10

Denmark's MNEMIC turned quite a few heads with its futuristic thrash, MESHUGGAH-like rhythms and shades of FEAR FACTORY/STRAPPING YOUNG LAD songwriting on 2003's "Mechanical Spin Phenomena" and 2004's "The Audio Injected Soul". While the soon-to-be-released "Passenger" may not reach the heights achieved by the 2004 release, those same elements are present and several of the songs possess melodies that are quite memorable. This time the album's theme is one that deals with a philosophy of existentialism. In keeping with what seems to be a trend of guest musician appearances, Shane Embury (NAPALM DEATH) and Jeff Walker (CARCASS) assist with vocals, while Roy Z (BRUCE DICKINSON, HALFORD, JUDAS PRIEST) contributes a guitar solo.

Gone is singer Michael Bøgballe, replaced by ex-SCARVE vocalist Guillaume Bideau who brings a somewhat more spastic approach to usually above-average results. Bideau's style is not a major departure, but does take some getting used to, at least when he is not in melodic singing mode. His command of the tuneful, even SOILWORK-like, choruses on songs such as "In the Nothingness Black", "Meaningless" (co-written and featuring a guitar solo by Roy Z) and "In Control" demonstrate that he is a good fit for the band. In all three cases, the choruses are powerful and sweetly melodic. Though not quite as melodically captivating (but close), similar plaudits should be given to "Psykorgasm", one with a pronounced FEAR FACTORY/SYL vibe, "Shape of the Formless", and album-closer "The Eye on your Back", the latter accented nicely with bits of piano. Speaking of piano, the electronic/keyboard effects remain as well, but are used more for atmospheric nuance.

Even on the aforementioned tracks, the delivery continues to be characterized by aggression and disorienting rhythms, strengthened by those rubbery, seven-string guitar lines and chunky rhythmic style. With Christian Olde Wolbers (FEAR FACTORY) holding down production duties, Warren Riker (DOWN) doing the engineering, and the consistently strong mixing of Tue Madsen, it goes without saying that the "Passenger" sound is big, bright, and bouncy.

"Passenger" is certain to please many fans of this bombastic and technically accomplished brand of modern metal. My guess is that some will find it to be a work of sheer brilliance and others a solid album that offers a now familiar approach with pretty decent songwriting. I happen to fall into the latter category.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).