"Once Only Imagined"

(Century Media)

01. Synopsis
02. Rise and Fall
03. Born Dead; Buried Alive
04. Take a Bow
05. Trophy Kill
06. Business Suits and Combat Boots
07. Serendipity
08. Memento Mori
09. Void of Sympathy
10. Chiaroscuro
11. Forget Tomorrow

RATING: 5/10

Following the signing of IN THIS MOMENT, and a decent release in "Beautiful Tragedy" that has gotten the band a fair amount of exposure, Century Media seemingly thought a similar album from Montreal's THE AGONIST would be a good idea. "Once Only Imagined" does have its moments, but the metalcore approach with the alternating angelic and gruff/screamy vocals of Alissa White-Gluz works for a couple of songs, but ultimately becomes forgettable.

The main problem with "Once Only Imagined" is the generic quality of the music. Sure, there are heavy riffs and tough rhythms, but much of it ends up sounding ho-hum. The selling point is the melodic vocal lines of White-Gluz, but there are only a few tunes that could be considered catchy, perhaps the standout being "Rise and Fall". Even then, the song is one of those that makes one say, "hey, that's not bad", but that's about it. Quite honestly, her clean vocal lines on several other tracks are not all that impressive, primarily because the underlying melodies are not that strong. If you were seeking the album only for its metalcore basis (the dissonant licks, the scraping riffs, etc), then you still may not be bowled over.

Maybe it is the fact that a trend for this style of metalcore seems to be forming and the mediocre acts are being dragged along with the few that do it well. Or maybe "Once Only Imagined" is nothing more than an average metalcore album with female vocals that work once in a while, but rarely stick to the ribs. There is nothing unacceptable here, and even a few bright spots, but generally speaking this is a collection of songs that will primarily appeal to the metalcore completists. Something just isn't clicking for me on this one.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).