"Mourn The Southern Skies"

(Nuclear Blast)

01. My Time
02. Asunder
03. Hallowed Sound
04. Beware The Wolf
05. Yesterday's Bones
06. All She Wrote
07. Rumination
08. The Arms Of Man
09. Ripping Flesh
10. Mourn The Southern Skies

RATING: 9/10

The next time somebody moans to you about long it takes GUNS 'N' ROSES, METALLICA or TOOL to make a record these days, feel free to remind them that EXHORDER are about to release their first album of new material in 27 years. Admittedly, Vinnie LaBella and Kyle Thomas's seminal crew didn't exist in any meaningful form for much of that period, but that really makes it even more remarkable that "Mourn the Southern Skies" is already getting a lot of people very excited. Because even though it's undeniable that the groove metal sound EXHORDER nailed down on "Slaughter in the Vatican" in 1990 was later made vastly more successful by other bands, discerning metalheads know the sound of O.G. brutality when they hear it. Preview single "My Time" went off like a nail bomb when it hit the airwaves (are airwaves still a thing?) a couple of months ago: if enormous riffs and explosive intensity are your thing, you may well be blasting it right now in anticipation of the full album. As returning statements go, "My Time" could hardly have been more potent, with Kyle Thomas once again proving that he's one of the great modern metal vocalists while spitting out more attitude and fury than any man his age should be able to conjure. And yes, it's undeniable that fans of a certain Texan quartet will be at the front of the queue for more of this stuff, but "Mourn the Southern Skies" should exterminate those lazy comparisons once and for all. Nearly three decades after they called it quits, EXHORDER have returned as an all-conquering heavy metal beast.

If you're familiar with the first two EXHORDER records, you may still not be prepared for just how absurdly heavy and destructive their third effort is. Vinnie LaBella is wielding a ridiculously powerful and crushing guitar tone here: from "My Time" onwards, this is a masterclass in how modern metal should sound, with a perfect balance struck between bowel-eviscerating bottom end and glass-shattering clarity. But the real revelation is that Vinnie LaBella has spent the last 27 years stockpiling and tinkering with material of extraordinarily high quality. The roots of EXHORDER's sound remain the same, of course: raging thrash metal, blistering hardcore punk and the ubiquitous rumble of Sabbath are all present and correct. But while "Slaughter in the Vatican" and 1992's "The Law" were primarily myopic, relentless affairs, this incarnation of EXHORDER has depths and nuance to spare, with the band's penchant for loping grooves brought firmly to the fore and several forays into out-and-out doom territory adding extra layers of menace and muscle.

Aided greatly by Kyle Thomas's endlessly compelling vocals but also by Vinnie LaBella's self-evident exuberance, this thing swings like an elephant's ballbag and kicks like a steroidal mule. It starts with a steady stream of newly minted gems — "Asunder" and "Hallowed Sound" are both hulking bruisers, predicated on scything thrash riffing and swampy swagger, while "Beware the Wolf" is a heads-down speed-snorting rager with a bad attitude. Later on, EXHORDER pull out a re-recorded version of early days tune "Ripping Flesh", originally released on the band's first "Get Rude" demo in 1985, it was fist to the eye socket back then, but today it sounds vastly more terrifying and extreme, LaBella's guitar tone threatening to slice faces off as Thomas's temple-veins burst like geysers. It's all so pumped-up and belligerent that you may find yourself wondering why it took the band so long to get their shit together. And then there are the epics: "Yesterday's Bones" is all slow-burning, bluesy sludge and BLACK LABEL pomp, with tasty lysergic undercurrents and a stunning solo from LaBella, while the closing title track lurches and stomps across nine-minutes of supremely dirty and atmospheric southern-fried doom, melancholic essence oozing from every pore and progressive flair on full display. It's a stunning finale.

There was a time when the only things most metal fans knew about EXHORDER were that they sounded like, you know, that other band, and that they wrote bad things about the Pope. Roughly 53 minutes after you press play on "Mourn the Southern Skies", the most important thing to know about EXHORDER is that they've just made one of the finest metal records of 2019.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).