"Metal For Life"

(C.M.M./ Demolition)

01. The Divine Birth Of Tragedy
02. Speak The Name
03. Hosanna Hosanna
04. Words Kill Everything
05. American Metalhead
06. Dogs In A Cage
07. Live And Die
08. Burn Flesh Burn
09. PainmuseuM (Metal For Life)
10. Bloody Wings
11. I Am Your Keeper

RATING: 6.5/10

HALFORD/TESTAMENT guitarist "Metal" Mike Chlasciak has always been very vocal about his love for '80s/early '90s metal, and the traditional heavy metal influences shine through clearly on his latest release, the first to be issued under the PAINMUSEUM banner.

Musically, this is exactly the kind of stuff you would expect to hear from someone who was raised on a steady diet of ACCEPT, JUDAS PRIEST, LOUDNESS and other influential acts of the pre-"nu"-metal generation. Crunching riffs and plenty of double-bass drumming (courtesy of Chlasciak's HALFORD bandmate, Bobby Jarzombek) are at the forefront of the group's sound, which borrows heavily from the aforementioned acts while injecting a fresh vibe into the proceedings with a more modern, aggressive edge.

As potent as PAINMUSEUM's instrumental musicianship is, the group's efforts are brought down significantly by the vocal contributions of Tim Clayborne. A screamer/growler whose style would be far more suitable in a more extreme band, Clayborne's execution comes across as forced and unnatural — like someone trying too hard to sound "brutal," even when the accompanying music calls for a more subdued, melodic vocal approach.

Unsurprisingly, my personal favorite moments on this CD happen to be the ones that see Clayborne breaking away from his schtick and incorporating more dynamics into his vocal delivery. "Live and Die" and "Bloody Wings" both feature stand-out melodic choruses that offer a glimpse of what could have been —a breath of fresh air compared to the one-dimensional screaming/growling that dominates much of the rest of the album.

For a debut CD, "Metal For Life" is certainly a respectable, albeit far from spectacular, effort. As much as Chlasciak and his bandmates are to be commended for their sincerity and undeniable musical abilities, this time around the whole has unfortunately turned out to be smaller than the sum of its parts.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).