"Killadelphia (Audio)"


01. Intro
02. Laid to Rest
03. Hourglass
04. As the Palaces Burn
05. Now You've Got Something to Die For
06. 11th Hour
07. Terror & Hubris in the House of Frank Pollard
08. Ruin
09. Omerta
10. Pariah
11. The Faded Light
12. Bloodletting
13. The Subtle Art of Murder & Persuasion
14. Vigil
15. What I've Become
16. Black Label

RATING: 8/10

LAMB OF GOD is an important band to the world of heavy metal, arguably as important as stalwarts PANTERA and SLAYER. And by important I mean LAMB OF GOD has proven the genre's staying power by moving units AND playing an uncompromising style of pure American metal. As such, the popularity of LAMB OF GOD (on Epic Records, fer chrissakes!) opens the door for more underground dwellers to surface, either through tour support slots or simply because the door to the extreme has been opened for those previously blind to it.

Those of you who have yet to experience the precision killing of "New American Gospel", "As the Palaces Burn", "Ashes of the Wake" or the self-titled "Burn the Priest" disc by the band's original incarnation have an opportunity to tour all four discs by grabbing this live CD. The companion audio CD of the highly successful "Killadelphia" DVD can be purchased separately or packaged with the DVD.

The sound mix is phenomenal; I'll assume it's free of studio touch-ups. Though I've not seen the Philadelphia performance on the DVD, I've seen the band live on several occasions. As such, I'm not surprised by the incredible amount of energy coming off the disc. The intensity of the performance on "Killadelphia" is off the chain. Vocalist Randy Blythe is on fire and you can feel the manic crowd reaction in your bones. I'll not bore you with a rundown of the songs, as you can view the track listing posted here for that. Shit, the band doesn't write duds anyway. And in case you haven't heard, guitarists Mark Morton and Willie Adler are surgical striking, axe-wielding assassins of the highest order.

According to the press release, the audio CD includes "close to 10 minutes of never before seen bonus footage from the concert, plus additional audio; this content will be available via Connected Technology where the CD acts as a key to unlock the visual content at a secure website." That's great. Too bad I've yet to figure how to access said content. I'm sure someone will point it out to me. Anyway, "Killadelphia (Audio)" is an impressive live document of a band at the top of its game.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).