(Nuclear Blast)

01. Set me Free
02. Show your Fist
03. Instinct
04. Burn
05. The Holy Noise
06. Fuck you All
07. United Nations
08. Land of Pain
09. I Break you
10. You Get what you Give
11. Until the End
12. I Will

RATING: 5.5/10

I'd always heard EKTOMORF were SOULFLY rip-offs, but I reserved judgment until I could actually hear one of the band's albums. Having now heard "Instinct", I must say that the word on the street is pretty damn accurate. Cloning SEPULTURA or SOULFLY may not be a bad thing if you're a fan of either band. By the same token, such blatant mimicry may totally piss you off. Well, I do like SEPULTURA and some of the early SOULFLY stuff, and this doesn't piss me off nor do I find it particularly endearing. To me, it's simply a middling album that is unoriginal as hell and that relies on a ton of low-end chug and a Hungarian Max Cavalera impersonator (Zoltán Farkas).

I mean come on, the opening track, "Set Me Free", would have fit right in on albums like SEPULTURA's "Roots" and SOULFLY's "Primitive" (especially the latter). You'll even hear bits of the tribal thing, such as the mid-section of "Show your Fist". Setting aside the rants about being unoriginal (I won't necessarily hang a band for repeating formulas anyway), "Instinct" does appeal to my like of tough chugging, thunderous drumming, and angry vocals. The album doesn't stray far from the formula, even with certain accents, guitar solos, and slight atmospheric parts. Fortunately, picking up the pace and changing up the arrangement, if just a bit, on songs like "The Holy Noise", "I Break You", and "Until the End" makes the album marginally more interesting.

If you can't get enough of this stuff, you may want to add "Instinct" to your collection. However, the only reason I'm listening to it is because it's a promotional copy; I probably wouldn't buy it. If I need a fix I can listen to SOULFLY or SEPULTURA. I'm also not a big enough fan of either act to seek out the imitators. "Instinct" is a pretty good imitation, but it's still an imitation. There are no secret ingredients.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).