"Index Case"

(Mortal Music)

01. Listen
02. Deserver
03. The L
04. Between Us
05. Why Dreams Bleed
06. The Wounded
07. Perfect Season
08. II
09. Silent Side of You
10. Fetish
11. Sincere
12. For Nothing

RATING: 6/10

As the story goes, SOIL's Tim King liked what he heard from Des Moines' INDEX CASE and signed the boys to Mortal Music. That little tale, coupled with the fact that the band was viewed as a good fit opening for acts like DRY KILL LOGIC, PAPA ROACH, and STATIC-X should begin to provide you with some indication of the target audience for INDEX CASE.

Now before you go thinking that I'm leading up to a scathing review of an obviously nu/modern rock/metal band, you should know that I found the album to be better than I expected. Meaty riffs and tight, chunky rhythms fit snugly with the airy/dreamy sections. The alternating melodic and aggressive vocals are arranged based on what is called for in the song, rather than coming off as overly formulaic. The bounce factor is kept to a minimum and the textured arrangements are relatively varied.

Aside from the occasional "F bomb" (such as in the first single, "Deserver"), the material is radio-friendly and tailor made for MTV. The aforementioned "Deserver", "Listen", and "Perfect Season" are highlights, and each one sports a good hook and tough delivery. For what it's worth, "Listen" is included on the "Texas Chainsaw Massacre" and "Ultimate Fighting" soundtracks. Fortunately, James "Jimbo" Barton's (MATCHBOX 20, ERIC CLAPTON, RUSH) production is not drowned in gloss and polish. There is a bite to the guitars and the rhythm-section sound is hard-hitting.

Once you get beyond the standouts, the material begins to venture into the Land of the Middling. Yeah, you've heard much of it before, but if you're a fan of the style, you should probably check it out.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).