"Eternal Flame"

(Nuclear Blast)

01. Only Human
02. Wings of Salvation
03. Future Calls
04. The Land of Mystic Rites
05. Midnight Bells
06. Eternal Flame
07. In The Name of God
08. Ride The Storm
09. King of Your Illusion
10. Judas Be My Guide
11. Nature's Revenge
12. Ivy

RATING: 8/10

Although it made barely a ripple in the global scene, NORTHTALE's debut album "Welcome to Paradise" was arguably a connoisseur's choice back in 2018. Guitarist and chief creative force Bill Hudson (CIRCLE II CIRCLE/ex-JON OLIVA'S PAIN) had a very clear and noble vision — to set out on that first record, with (now former) vocalist Christian Eriksson providing the necessary multi-octave flair, to create a bunch of great tunes that were unapologetic in their debt to HELLOWEEN and STRATOVARIUS. Three years on, the formula remains largely the same, but with a new frontman, Guilherme Hirose, and a noticeably heavier sound, "Eternal Flame" demands attention and respect in a way that its predecessor arguably didn't.

It always helps when an album kicks off with a certified anthem, and "Only Human" delivers the goods here, Hudson's ruthless seven-string assault underpinning the sweetest of blustery melodies, before an enormous chorus erupts in textbook power metal splendor. But "Eternal Flame" is not solely concerned with upgrading the genre's basics: from "Wings Of Salvation"'s sprawling pomp onwards, NORTHTALE's second album is an object lesson in ebb, flow and wringing fresh conceits from the most well-worn of materials.

"Future Calls", replete with a cameo from HELLOWEEN's Kai Hansen, gently expands those classic tropes, while "The Land of Mystic Rites" proudly goes Full Prog, with multiple changes of pace, some outrageous QUEEN-like guitar histrionics and an irresistible detour into esoteric tribal rhythms and sun-scorched psych mantras. Meanwhile, "Midnight Bells" is a gloriously overwrought, fists-in-the-air moment, like WOLF jamming with QUEENSRYCHE on some hellish highway to Valhalla, while the title track marries neo-classical, technical dexterity to a bowel-rattling speed metal undercarriage, as Hirose glides effortlessly through the gears, sublime harmonies erupting from every angle.

The real joy here is in how Hudson has ticked every conceivable box for fans of this stuff while never reining in his ambition as a songwriter. That sense of creative urgency is most apparent on "Nature's Revenge": an 11-minute epic with a dark and dramatic heart, but melodies that are so resolutely uplifting that they would make a dead man grin. With a startlingly brutal mid-section and a magnificently ominous, Moog-embellished, quasi-doom final descent toward a tooth-dislodging, hell-for-leather pay-off, it's a remarkable piece of music that suggests that NORTHTALE remains a project with few limitations.

As an added masterstroke, NORTHTALE have plundered the IRON MAIDEN deep-cut department and conjured a gleaming new version of "Judas Be My Guide": an unsung gem from the British legends' "Fear Of The Dark" album, that definitely deserves a spirited rebirth. Pleasingly, it fits into the "Eternal Flame"'s deceptively adventurous sprawl perfectly and adds further weight to the notion that Hudson's band are the connoisseur's choice and potential power-hungry heavyweights.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).