(Century Media)

01. The New Build
02. Through Smudged Lenses
03. Out Of Nothing
04. The Endless Feed
05. Lost To Apathy
06. Mind Matters
07. One Thought
08. Dry Run
09. Am I 1?
10. Senses Tied
11. My Negation

RATING: 8/10

"Character" has been awaited obsessively by the self-appointed defenders of heavy, who've pinned their Swede-metal hopes on DARK TRANQUILLITY after lamenting loud and long the "selling out" of IN FLAMES, SOILWORK, et al. Good news — Mikael Stanne's much-maligned clean vocals are history, his emotive snarl capable of carrying rudimentary melody and, more importantly, expressing his words in a clear, venomous, compelling way. And the keyboards — another red flag for purists — are held in check, very much a tool of color, accent and shading. The occasional four-measure break or melody line notwithstanding, this is a guitar record, through and through. In fact, if you're looking for someone to be the guardian of traditional Swedish thrash in purest form (and remember, that includes a little melody, always has), you've pretty much found them.

"Character" fits in with modern times — a song like "The Endless Feed" (about as "soft" as "Character" gets) or lead single "Lost to Apathy" won't be completely alien to a new generation of metalcore mallrats. But that's only because those kids' heroes have been ripping Sweden off since 1995 anyway — it's got nothing to do with DARK TRANQUILLITY. Their influences remain older and more pure, their outlook snarling, their melodies laced with echoes of the thrash and black metal of their past. There's more of a classic, epic feel to their soloing and arranging — nothing here was wedged into a three-minute radio format or saddled with a clean choruses and (Odin forbid) a stomping breakdown.

Openers "The New Build" and "Through Smudged Lenses" (these guys' song titles have always been a little off-kilter) are as intense and thrashy as anything on the new KREATOR, and it's doubtful that was an accident. They're up front to rally the troops and serve as a statement of intent that "Character" is a razor-sharp, precision-tooled antidote to the mallcore glut. Sure, that move is probably as calculated as their decision to incorporate clean vocals and get maudlin and Goth-y in 1998. But when the results give the people what they want and kick this much ass, that's easy to forgive. DARK TRANQUILLITY are Swedish thrash — fast tempos, buzzsaw riffs, harsh vocals, catchy songs, and that hint of classic-metal melody. And "Character" is a sterling example of all that's good about the genre.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).