"Call of the Mastodon"


01. Shadows That Move
02. Welcoming War
03. Thank You For This
04. We Built This Come Death
05. Hail To Fire
06. Battle At Sea
07. Deep Sea Creature
08. Slickleg
09. Call of the Mastodon

RATING: 8/10

Before you do anything, take a close look at the track listing above. If a lot of it looks familiar, you probably already own the out-of-print "Lifesblood" EP — and only you can decide if four more early tracks, for a total of 28 minutes of music, is worth shelling out full price for.

But let's assume for a moment that, like most people, you've been bowled over by the ferocious, subterranean math/myth metal assault of MASTODON, and as they look to the future and an improbable major label deal, you're peering into the mists of the past. What you find here, on the band's first venture into the studio, will be familiar to you — Brann Dailor was already a freaking god of over-the-top drumming and fills that flow like choppy water over rapids, and Brent Hinds, Bill Kelliher and Troy Sanders already had their strange, ferocious avalanche-of-riffing style well developed.

Songs here are a lot thrashier, with more quirky blast beat parts, sections where things are slightly less refined, more likely to maniacally grind for two minutes (see "We Built This Come Death") than to embark on a shambling, shaggy album side of an adventure. There's a mania to this older stuff that's refreshing to hear after being away from it for a while, but it's definitely a primal-ooze version of the same MASTODON that's made such a dent in the music world – you'll know who it is within seconds, it's just a slightly more raw, ham-fisted antecedent.

The production isn't quite the massive wall-of-doom you're used to, either, but there again, there's a ragged edge to it, the same sort of clattery, caffeinated mania that fueled no-budget classics like "Dimension: Hatross" (that's VOIVOD, kids). It all boils down to an intangible quality you can just as easily call "hunger" as anything else – this is the sound of a band working day jobs, playing squats in Athens and Atlanta, Georgia, cobbling together this apocalyptic vision of epic clusterbomb metal, without having the slightest idea whether it would even work, much less that it would take them to at least the semblance of a musical career. This is MASTODON getting its sea legs as a band, facing the gale, and going after that fucking whale with a lunatic vengeance.

Do you need it? Shit yes, you do. Convince some uber-collector nerd to buy your copy of "Lifesblood" to finance the purchase, if necessary.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).