YAKUZA Completes Work On New Album

Progressive/jazz metal masters YAKUZA have completed work on their new full-length album, "Of Seismic Consequence". The band's darkest, heaviest, most introspective and most primal sounding album to date, the CD was recorded by Sanford Parker in a very live, stripped down environment between two studios (Electrical Audio and Semaphore).

YAKUZA decided to approach "Of Seismic Consequence" a bit differently than its previous releases. With the traditional YAKUZA elements still ingrained within the band's expansive and multi-faceted sound canvas, "Of Seismic Consequence" comes across as YAKUZA's most song-oriented album while at the same time being the band's heaviest and most oppressive-sounding album to date.

One of the standout traits that "Of Seismic Consequence" presents is the more expansive use of Bruce Lamont's vocals where his clean voice is the dominant force. Also what makes "Of Seismic Consequence" the darkest YAKUZA album is how some of the more melancholic and introspective moments on the album present themselves in such an epic and monumental fashion (as can be witnessed on such tracks as "Be That As It May", "Farewell To The Flesh" and the stirring album closer "Deluge"). And, of course, one of the most distinct elements to the YAKUZA sound, namely Lamont's talents as a saxophone player, is once again showcased on "Of Seismic Consequence", where it actually enhances the darkness that dominates the CD.

Filmmaker Justin Baron has been documenting the recording process for the new YAKUZA album.

A five-minute trailer/preview for the CD featuring some of this footage can be viewed below.

Due on June 22 via Profound Lore Records, "Of Seismic Consequence" will feature the following track listing:

01. The Ant People
02. Thinning The Herd
03. Stones And Bones
04. Be That As It May
05. Farewell To The Flesh
06. Testing The Waters
07. Good Riddance (The Knuckle Walkers)
08. The Great War
09. Deluge

The song "Stones And Bones" can be streamed using the audio player below.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).