VICIOUS ART Drummer Checks In From Recording Studio

VICIOUS ART, the Swedish death/thrash metal band featuring former DARK FUNERAL members Matias Mäkelä and Robert Lundin, along with Jörgen Sandström (THE PROJECT HATE, ex-ENTOMBED, GRAVE) on bass, entered Offbeat studio in Jakobsberg, Sweden on May 18 to begin recording its sophomore album, tentatively due this fall via Mighty Music.

Commented VICIOUS ART drummer Robert Lundin: "I am pleased with how it all turned out. I managed to get my work done according to plan. Intense and effective. I don't always record to a click track, but this time I choose to do so, and it worked really well. Twelve songs recorded and I really look forward to hearing the guitars, bass and vocals over these beats in the weeks to come. And as always at this time in the process I want time to move faster so all our fans can get the album as soon as possible. Tobbe is up next in a couple of days for his guitar parts, and parallell to all the instruments getting recorded, Robert and Jocke are also working hard on getting the lyrics together. Working titles so far include 'Tombstone Grind', 'Chewing Gunpowder' and 'The Paolina Paintings'. Expect the lyrics to be as twisted as always. Also, VICIOUS ART is now in close contact with a friend of theirs who will help them with the album cover, booklet layout and such, and there are some good ideas going."

VICIOUS ART three-song "Weed the Wild" EP was recorded at Offbeat in February 2006 and contains material that "will not be re-recorded [for] a future release," according to the band. It can be ordered through the Mighty Music webshop.

Three video clips of VICIOUS ART performing at club Satin in Örebro, Sweden on March 17, 2007 have been posted online at YouTube.

VICIOUS ART's debut album, "Fire Falls and the Waiting Waters", was released in October 2004 through Threeman Recordings in Europe (Candlelight Records in the U.S.).


Jocke Widfeldt (DOMINION CALIGULA) - Vocals
Matti Mäkelä (DARK FUNERAL) - Guitar
Tobbe Sillman (GUIDANCE OF SIN) - Guitar
Jörgen Sandström (ENTOMBED, GRAVE, KRUX, THE PROJECT HATE) - Bass and Vocals
Robert Lundin (DARK FUNERAL) - Drums

For more information, visit


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).