VELVET REVOLVER: 'Melody And The Tyranny' Audio Samples Available

The German branch of Sony BMG has uploaded audio samples of three of the tracks that are featured on VELVET REVOLVER's European EP, "Melody and the Tyranny", which is being released today. The EP contains two tracks from the band's new CD, "Libertad", as well as TALKING HEADS cover "Psycho Killer" (which was recorded during the "Libertad" sessions) and a video documentary about the making of "Libertad". The track listing is as follows:

01. She Builds Quick Machines (4:02)
02. Just Sixteen (3:59)
03. Psycho Killer (4:13)
04. Making Of Libertad (10:30)
05. Do It For The Kids (4:13)

Check out the artwork at this location.

Bassist Duff McKagan told Launch that the EP is aimed at giving fans a taste of the new record before the band hits the European festival circuit in June. "You know, you would like for people to know your material before you play it. So we're gonna put out an EP — we convinced the record company — we're gonna put out a CD/EP with, you know, extra, like, video footage of South America and stuff on it. And we're gonna put a cover of 'Psycho Killer' that we did on there, just some extra stuff."

"Libertad" will be released on July 3 in two formats: a CD version, which will also include the documentary, and a CD/DVD version, which will feature a bonus DVD with a 30-minute documentary about the 2007 South American tour.

"Libertad" final track listing:

01. Let It Roll
02. She Mine
03. Get Out The Door
04. She Builds Quick Machines
05. The Last Fight
06. American Man
07. Mary Mary
08. Just Sixteen
09. Can't Get It Out Of My Head
10. For A Brother
11. Spay
12. Gravedancer
13. "Making Of Libertad" documentary (multimedia section)


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).