TWISTED SISTER's Under The Blade' To Be Reissued As Lavish CD/DVD Package

Eagle Rock Entertainment will release the landmark metal debut of 1982, "Under The Blade" by TWISTED SISTER, on May 31. The CD originally produced by Pete Way of UFO will also contain four tracks from their 1982 "Ruff Cuts" EP (never before available on CD) as well as "Shoot 'Em Down", an '82 live track from England's prestigious Reading Festival. The lavish package features the original "Under The Blade" cover, which has not appeared on any domestic versions of the album until now, and reflects the original Secret Records track list and remastered audio mix.

The DVD contains the entire previously-unreleased Reading concert. Vocalist Dee Snider, guitarists Jay Jay French and Eddie Ojeda, bassist Mark Mendoza and drummer A.J. Pero gave the crowd something they had not exactly ever seen before. It was, for all intents and purposes, a coming-out affair for this great band. They play as if their life depends upon it. They play as if they have something to prove. And they did. They're young, hungry, determined and wind up headbanging with a desperate ferocity usually reserved for those kinds of life-altering performances that make a band. This is one of those performances. The set concludes with a show-stopping version of "It's Only Rock 'N' Roll" as the band jams out with Pete Way and MOTRHEAD's Fast Eddie Clarke and Lemmy! The DVD also includes 40 minutes of newly shot interviews with the band about the recording of "Under The Blade" and the Reading Festival.

French joined the band SILVER STAR, a New Jersey-based "glitter band" in December 1972. The group, whose original purpose was to be the New Jersey version of the NEW YORK DOLLS, changed their name to TWISTED SISTER on Valentine's Day 1973. The band, however, continually changed lineups and didn't take off until Snider joined in 1976. The lineup didn't fully coalesce until 1982 with the final addition of drummer A.J. Pero.

"Under The Blade" first came out on an independent U.K.-based label called Secret Records, but really gained momentum when Atlantic Records released a different mix of the album nationally in 1985 while taking advantage of the bands newly minted stardom. Their meteoric ascent came in tandem with the simultaneous rise of MTV. This version you now have in your hands is the most requested and sought after. The new digital remastered original mix of "Under the Blade".

CD track listing:

01. What You Don't Know (Sure Can Hurt You)
02. Bad Boys (Of Rock 'n' Roll)
03. Run For Your Life
04. Sin After Sin
05. Shoot 'Em Down
06. Destroyer
07. Under The Blade
08. Tear It Loose
09. Day Of The Rocker
10. What You Don't Know (Sure Can Hurt You) (Ruff Cutts Version)
11. Shoot 'Em Down (Ruff Cutts Version)
12. Under The Blade (Ruff Cutts Version)
13. Leader Of The Pack (Ruff Cutts Version)
14. Shoot 'Em Down (Live At Reading)

DVD track listing:

01. What You Don't Know (Sure Can Hurt You)
02. Sin After Sin
03. Bad Boys (Of Rock 'n' Roll)
04. Destroyer
05. Shoot Em Down
06. Tear It Loose
07. Under The Blade
08. It's Only Rock 'n' Roll


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).