THE SHOTGUN SUICIDES, the Chicago-based old-school death metal band featuring former members of ENFORSAKEN, has posted its cover of the classic EDGE OF SANITY song "Twilight" to the group's MySpace page. The cover was recorded in early February and is the last of three covers that have been posted in streaming-audio format on the bands MySpace page.

The following classic death metal cover songs are now streaming on the group's MySpace page:

01. AT THE GATES - "Suicide Nation"
02. CARCASS - "Embodiment"
03. EDGE OF SANITY - "Twilight"

These cover songs are available for free on the band's "Garage Days Re-Heated Volume One" CD. More info about this free CD can be found on the bands MySpace page.

The three-piece recording lineup for these covers was as follows:

Stefan Rieux - Vocals
Steve Stell - Guitar/Bass (ex-ENFORSAKEN)
David Swanson - Drums (ex-ENFORSAKEN, currently in VENEFICUM)

THE SHOTGUN SUICIDES' debut album, "A Glorious Tragedy", was released in Japan on February 13 via Spiritual Beast Records/Universal Music Japan. This Japanese pressing is also available directly from the band via mail-order.

The band is currently looking for a North American/European label to release its "A Glorious Tragedy" album. Interested parties should contact the band via the group's MySpace page.

"A Glorious Tragedy" was recorded last summer at Studio One (MICHAEL ANGELO BATIO, SOIL, NOVEMBERS DOOM, ENFORSAKEN, JUNGLE ROT) in Racine, Wisconsin. Chris Djuricic (NOVEMBERS DOOM bassist and Studio One owner) produced and engineered the project.

The cover artwork for "A Glorious Tragedy" was created by acclaimed metal artist (now retired) Mattias Norn (EVERGREY, JOHN PETRUCCI, INTO ETERNITY, KOTIPELTO, DEREK SHERINIAN).

Underground artist Brian Guther created THE SHOTGUN SUCIDES logo. Brian was also responsible for the ENFORSAKEN logo way back in 1998.

ENFORSAKEN was active in the metal scene from 1998 until its breakup in 2006. The band released three critically acclaimed albums over its eight-year history: "The Forever Endeavor" (Century Media), "Sinners Intuition" (Crash Music) and "Embraced By Misery" (Lifeforce).


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).