THE RESISTANCE Feat. THE HAUNTED, Ex-IN FLAMES Members: 'For The Venom' Lyric Video

THE RESISTANCE Feat. THE HAUNTED, Ex-IN FLAMES Members: 'For The Venom' Lyric Video

The official lyric video for the song "For The Venom" from THE RESISTANCE, the Swedish extreme metal band featuring former and current members of IN FLAMES and THE HAUNTED, can be seen below. The track is taken from THE RESISTANCE's sophomore full-length album, "Coup De Grâce", which came out on January 22 via earMUSIC.

According to a press release, "Coup De Grâce" "reconnects with the one and only, original extreme hardcore and slams it straight down your throat and into the present age. The ferocious and relentless pureness makes it a masterpiece, as the overwhelming aggression encloses and doesn't let you go."

Joining singer Marco Aro (also in THE HAUNTED) in THE RESISTANCE's current lineup are IN FLAMES founding member Jesper Strömblad on guitar, Daniel Antonsson (ex-SOILWORK, DARK TRANQUILLITY) on guitar, Chris Barkensjö (ex-KAAMOS, GRAVE) on drums, and Rob Hakemo (ex-M.A.N.) on bass.

Guitarist Glenn Ljungström (ex-IN FLAMES) wrote music for, and played on, "Coup De Grâce", but left the band after the EP was recorded due to "personal stuff."

"Coup De Grâce" track listing:

01. Death March
02. I Welcome Death
03. Smallest Creep
04. Violator
05. Felony
06. Death Blow
07. Resolution
08. World Order
09. Enslavement
10. Art Of Murder
11. For The Venom
12. The Drowning
13. As It All Came Down

Asked how THE RESISTANCE compares to IN FLAMES, Jesper told Highware Daze: "Well, I would have to say, if I have to compare, THE RESISTANCE is a totally different band. The only common thing is that me and Glenn used to play in IN FLAMES. So, I guess, musically, it's much more simple. It's heavy and aggressive and it comes from another school, I would say. I wanted to do something that all of us wanted to do, like keep it simple [and have a] little bit more of death metal style. Also, we have some melodies, but they are very, very restricted, so to speak. So I would say for fans of IN FLAMES, do not expect to hear what they think they would. If you would call IN FLAMES the Ambassadors of Gothenburg sound, I would say that THE RESISTANCE — we're talking to a step back and have done something of a marriage between the Stockholm and Gothenburg sound."

THE RESISTANCE released its debut EP, "Rise From Treason", in North America on January 29, 2013 via earMUSIC. Another EP, "Torture Tactics", followed in February 2015.

THE RESISTANCE made its live debut on October 8, 2011 at Club Distortion in Stockholm, Sweden.

Strömblad quit IN FLAMES in February 2010 in order to continue receiving treatment for his alcohol addiction.



Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).