SYSTEM OF A DOWN Deny Intentional Leak, Vow To Scrap Most Of Unreleased Material

SYSTEM OF A DOWN have denied that the leaked versions of 15 previously-unreleased SOAD songs originally recorded during the Toxicity sessions came from a CDR passed around by frontman Serj Tankian and have indicated that the tracks are unfinished and are missing various parts, in addition to having never been mixed or mastered. "These tracks are unfinished and don't reflect the group's high standards of recorded sound," the band said in a statement. "We are disappointed that our fans are listening to anything less than the best possible recordings from SYSTEM OF A DOWN." A spokesperson for the group has also stated that there are currently no plans to release the leaked material and that the band plan to scrap most of the tracks and start afresh when the songwriting sessions for the group's third full-length CD commence later in the year. Furthermore, the "leaked" versions of the tracks were apparently passed around with incorrect titles. The correct titles are said to be the following:

01. Boom
02. Streamline
03. Virgin Tea
04. Waiting For You (version one)
05. American Dream
06. Highway Song
07. Pictures
08. Want Me To Try
09. K.I.T.T.
10. Power Struggle
11. Chick N' Stew
12. Fortress
13. .36
14. Desecrate
15. Waiting For You (version two)



Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).