STUCK MOJO: Another New Song Posted Online

Atlanta-based rap-metal pioneers STUCK MOJO, who recently announced the addition of vocalist Lord Nelson to the group's lineup, have posted another new track, entitled "Home", on their MySpace page. Also available at the same location are the songs "Metal is Dead" and "That's When I Burn". "All three of these tracks are rough mixes from my home studio and final mixes are scheduled for next week at Tree Sound Studios in Atlanta," stated STUCK MOJO mainman/guitarist Rich Ward.

Ward recently had the following to say about the current status of the band's new album, "Southern Born Killers":

"So, here's what's happening. Management is in the process of finalizing distribution deals for all the territories. Once all of these deals are in place, we will be able to coordinate an official release date. For now, we are going to press 1,000 copies of 'Southern Born Killers'. These thousand copies will all be hand-numbered, signed by the band and will include a DVD bonus disk containing assorted video goodies, including a video clip for the song 'Open Season'. This limited run will start shipping on the 8th of December and orders placed before Monday, December 11th, will receive guaranteed shipping by Christmas (Christmas guarantee is for U.S. only, due to inconsistency in overseas shipping time). Ordering info will be posted in the nest week."

Regarding criticism that STUCK MOJO's new song "Home" sounds a bit too much like his THE DUKE solo project, Ward said, "It's tough to run from who I am. MOJO/ FOZZY/ SICK SPEED/ CAFU/ THE DUKE, it's all just music to me. I know that some of you see it differently, but it seems very forced and unnatural when I avoid taking a song in a direction, because 'that' band is not 'supposed' to sound like that. When I write a new record for FOZZY and THE DUKE, there will be more than enough people saying, 'Hey, that sounds like it should be a MOJO or a SICK SPEED riff,' and all I can say is, 'You caught me, I'm stealing from myself again.' I've said this before, my intention was to write the heaviest MOJO album yet, but the more I 'tried' to write an entire record of 'FU' riffs smothered in death metal vocals, the more I wanted to go work at Subway. For better or for worse, this is just who I am and this is the way MOJO sounds now. Before Bonz [rapper] left the band, he was 110% behind this album. So, it would be dishonest to say that the direction of this record is not MOJO, because Bonz is no longer in the band. This is the album that all of us wanted to make.

"I'm not trying to devalue any of [the fans'] comments (they are all appreciated and respected), I'm just trying to help you see how this record was put together. I continue to maintain that some old-school MOJO fans will not like all of the songs on this record. The artist in me wants everyone to like it, but every new MOJO record has been hated by at least 20% of our fans, so I'm well adjusted to this process."

Most of the initial "Southern Born Killers" tracks were recorded at Backstage Studios in Derbyshire, U.K. with producer Andy Sneap (NEVERMORE, ARCH ENEMY, MACHINE HEAD, EXODUS).

Joining Lord Nelson and guitarist Rich Ward in STUCK MOJO's current recording lineup are FOZZY/DUKE bassist Sean Delson and drummer Eric Sanders.

"Southern Born Killers" projected track listing (in no particular order):

01. I'm Back
02. Southern Born Killers
03. Metal Is Dead
04. Born For This Moment
05. Friends
06. The Sky Is Falling
07. That's When I Burn
08. The Fear Is All Around Me
09. Open Season
10. In My Mind
11. Home
12. Invincible
13. Rhythm and Bullshit

"Southern Born Killers" is tentatively scheduled for release in early 2007 through an as-yet-undetermined label. The band was previously signed to Century Media Records.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).