Netherlands-based gothic/progressive metal band STREAM OF PASSION, which is fronted by Mexican female vocalist Marcela Bovio (AYREON), has entered the studio to begin recording its sophomore album, due in early 2009 via Napalm Records. According to a posting on the group's MySpace page, "To stick to their traditional distributed and de-centralized way of working, the band is making use of different studios and locations to create the sound they're looking for. Joining the team are renowned Dutch producers Joost van den Broek (AFTER FOREVER) and Jochem Jacobs (TEXTURES). The combination of their influences is just what the band was looking for: heavy and powerful on one side, atmospheric and melodic on the other."

STREAM OF PASSION guitarist Eric Hazebroek has issued the following studio update:

"With the drums recorded in record-breaking time it was up to the guitar players to enter the Split Second Sound Studio in Tilburg and lay down the huge wall of distorted (and sometimes not-so-distorted) sound. With two guitar players, it's always a matter of getting everything in sync and in the same key. So during the entire pre-production, we fiddled around with the details until every note was correct and played in such a way that it became tight as a really, really tight thing. ;)

"First day started off with carrying all the equipment in, which included a multitude of guitars and three guitar amp heads. And this was just an addition to all the stuff that was already there, as Jochem owns a freight load of different amps and guitars. The next couple of hours were filled with connecting everything and testing it, moving the mics, searching for that right sound. With a Diezel, a Peavey 5150 and a Mesa Stiletto, we had all the sounds we needed."

Read the rest of the blog on STREAM OF PASSION's MySpace page.

STREAM OF PASSION's current lineup:

Marcela Bovio - Vocals, Violin
Johan van Stratum - Bass
Davy Mickers - Drums
Jeffrey Revet - Keyboards
Eric Hazebroek - Guitars
Stephan Schultz - Guitars

STREAM OF PASSION has been confirmed for the Monsters Of Mariaheide festival, set to take place January 17 in Mariaheide, Holland.

STREAM OF PASSION parted ways with founding members Arjen Lucassen (guitar), Lori Linstruth (guitar) and Alejandro Millán (piano), back in March 2007.

The band's debut album, "Embrace the Storm", was released in Holland in October 2005 via Sony/BMG Benelux. The CD was issued in the rest of Europe and the U.S./Canada via InsideOut Music.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).