STRAPPING YOUNG LAD, the Canadian extreme metal band led by guitarist/vocalist Devin Townsend, entered The Armoury Studios in Vancouver, B.C. on Thursday (August 19) to begin recording their fourth album. Devin is producing the effort, while engineering duties are being handled by Shaun Thingvold. A "making of the record" documentary is being filmed for the digipak version of the album, which is tentatively due in early 2005 through Century Media Records. Among the 10 songs set to appear on the CD are the following:

01. Zen
02. Imperial
03. Skeksis
04. Love?
05. Shine
06. Possesions
07. Landscape
08. Shitstorm
09. What's New Pussycat? (TOM JONES cover)

In other news, STRAPPING YOUNG LAD have set a November 2 release date through Century Media for their live DVD, "For Those Aboot To Rock" [sic]. The disc reportedly features a full set from the band's sold-out hometown show at The Commodore Ballroom in Vancouver recorded earlier this year, plus some "hilarious" backstage antics and video clips.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).