RUSH: 'Retrospective 3' Audio Samples Available

RUSH's "Retrospective 3" greatest-hits package will be released on March 3 via Anthem/Atlantic.

The collection — available as both individual CD and two-disc CD/DVD set — features tracks culled from the legendary trio's two decades with Atlantic Records, spanning such acclaimed studio works as 1989's "Presto", 1991's "Roll The Bones", 1993's "Counterparts", 1996's "Test For Echo", 2002's "Vapor Trails", and 2007's "Snakes & Arrows". In addition, "Retrospective 3" features a previously unreleased live version of the classic "Ghost of a Chance", recorded live in Atlanta during RUSH's 2008 "Snakes & Arrows Tour", as well as two tracks — "One Little Victory" and "Earthshine" — newly remixed by the band's Alex Lifeson and master mixer Richard Chycki (AEROSMITH, MICK JAGGER, P. DIDDY).

The "Retrospective 3" DVD gathers the band's 10 stunning music videos during the Atlantic years, including clips for fan favorites such as "The Pass", "Roll The Bones", "Stick It Out", "Driven" and the Grammy Award-nominated "Malignant Narcissism". What's more, the DVD includes a trio of live videos filmed in Frankfurt, Germany during RUSH's 2004 "R30: 30th Anniversary World Tour", highlighted by a masterful performance of THE WHO's classic "The Seeker" (originally recorded by RUSH for 2004's "Feedback"). As an added bonus, the band has included a rare televised performance of the classic "Tom Sawyer" and an on-camera interview featuring all three members.

Audio clips are available at

"Retrospective 3" will reportedly fulfill the band's obligation to Atlantic Records. Although denied by a spokesman for RUSH in a statement to Classic Rock magazine, it has been rumored that RUSH is negotiating a future contract with Rounder Records, who released the "R30" DVD in 2005.

"Retrospective 3" track listing:


01. One Little Victory (remix)
02. Dreamline
03. Workin' Them Angels
04. Presto
05. Bravado
06. Driven
07. The Pass
08. Animate
09. Roll the Bones
10. Ghost of a Chance (live)
11. Nobody's Hero
12. Leave That Thing Alone
13. Earthshine (remix)
14. Far Cry


01. Stick it Out
02. Nobody's Hero
03. Half the World
04. Driven
05. Roll the Bones
06. Show Don't Tell
07. The Pass
08. Superconductor
09. Far Cry
10. Malignant Narcissism
11. The Seeker (live)
12. Secret Touch (live)
13. Resist (live)

The cover artwork for "Retrospective 3" can be viewed below.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).