REDEMPTION To Release Concert DVD Early Next Year

REDEMPTION — the Los Angeles-based progressive metal band led by guitarist/songwriter Nicolas van Dyk and featuring vocal legend Ray Alder of FATES WARNING — has issued the following update:

"REDEMPTION's live DVD will be released early next year. It was filmed in five-camera hi-definition at the ProgPower festival in Atlanta. It will be released as a DVD with a bonus live CD of the performance.

"The performance includes:

* Threads
* Bleed Me Dry
* Nocturnal
* Memory
* The Suffocating Silence
* Fall On You
* Release
* Sapphire
* The Death of Faith & Reason

"Runtime for the concert will be approximately 67 minutes. In addition, the DVD will contain a bonus tour diary / slideshow of our tour with DREAM THEATER, with our unreleased instrumental based on DREAM THEATER's 'Stream of Consciousness' that we recorded before Ray joined the band. It was this instrumental that caught the attention of DREAM THEATER, so we thought it would be fun to include it on a DVD that commemorates our first tour with them.

"Additional bonus materials will be included as well.

"Lastly, we are hard at work writing material for REDEMPTION's fourth CD and should have new music out before next summer. There will be between 8 and 10 tracks, and they range from heavy to epic, with the signature REDEMPTION sense of musical urgency to them. We're very excited to start recording in the next several weeks."

REDEMPTION's video for the song "Bleed Me Dry" can be viewed below.

Nicolas van Dyk previously stated about the clip: "The video was directed by Marcos Efron, an extremely talented up-and-coming director known for his with on videos (including one for the artist JEWEL) and short films, with Chris Johnson as director of photography. The video mixes stylized shots of the band performing (like the silhouette of Bernie shown below) with conceptual footage of a woman attempting to break free of her bonds and escape a prison-like existence."

REDEMPTION released its third CD, "The Origins of Ruin", in April 2007 via InsideOut Music. The CD follows up 2005's breakthrough release "The Fullness of Time", the band's first with FATES WARNING frontman Ray Alder, which generated tremendous critical and popular acclaim. With Bernie Versailles (guitars, AGENT STEEL), Chris Quirarte (drums, PRYMARY) and new bass player Sean Andrews (who performed on Henning Pauly's CHAIN project), REDEMPTION is one of the most prominent up-and-coming progressive metal bands.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).