On June 23, Brian Rademacher of RockEyez conducted an interview with Kristy Majors of PRETTY BOY FLOYD and the new Southern California-based punk/rock band KRISTY MAJORS AND THE THRILL KILLS. You can now listen to the chat in the YouTube clip below.

KRISTY MAJORS AND THE THRILL KILLS released its debut self-titled album on June 17.

With roots that feed from the East Coast '70s punk scene to the West Coast '80s metal scene, KRISTY MAJORS AND THE THRILL KILLS are delivering from the sweet spot that exists in between. The first single, "Broken Lip", is the perfect example of this synergy, with its blistering speed, classic punk guitar sound, lyrics punched with attitude and two-minute run time.

"Broken Lip" is available for free download at this location.

"I write and record music to please myself these days," said Majors, who released "Kristy Majors And The Thrill Kills" independently and going back to basics with fan-focused promotion: big shows in intimate venues, crazy live videos, and music that transcends generations. With decades of diverse experience, Majors is going "back to my roots."

Majors grew up in New York City, attending all-ages shows at CBGBs and collecting firsthand the energy from epic punks like the RAMONES, DEAD BOYS and NEW YORK DOLLS. He later took in glam and rock shows, Broadway plays, and the cutting-edge art scene. Majors packed all that in his suitcase bound for L.A., and by the mid-'80s was signed to MCA with the glam rock band he formed, PRETTY BOY FLOYD. PRETTY BOY FLOYD's LP "Leather Boyz With Electric Toys" sold more than half a million copies, and the band has existed in various forms ever since.

During the pop music shift of the '90s, Majors worked in A&R at Sony Records, producing some of their biggest jazz and pop artists, including Dave Koz, YOUNG DUBLINERS and Keiko Matsui. Later, he opened Highway To Hell Studios and Artists Worldwide booking agency, which represents more than sixty acts, including MISFITS, Paul Di'Anno, Yngwie Malmsteen and MICHAEL SCHENKER GROUP. He’s also written music for TV and movie soundtracks as well as commercials.

"Kristy Majors And The Thrill Kills" track listing:

01. Beginners Luck
02. Deadbeat
03. Empty Handed
04. Broken Lip
05. Stagnation Street
06. Pissed It All Away
07. Over And Over Again (The Same Thing)
08. Make Up
09. Falling Behind
10. Teenage Wasteland
11. Magazine

All tracks were produced, recorded and mixed by Kristy Majors at Highway to Hell Studios in Southern California, with Kari Kane (PRETTY BOY FLOYD) on drums.

On stage, Majors is joined by partners-in-crime Nick Rozz (guitar player for BULLETBOYS), JK Famous (PRETTY BOY FLOYD bassist) and Ben Graves (original drummer for MURDERDOLLS).



To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).