OCEANO To Film 'District Of Misery' Video

Chicago's deathcore band OCEANO will film a video for the song "District Of Misery" tomorrow (Friday, February 27) in Los Angeles, California. Directed by Patrick Guera (DIFFICULT HENRY, HARD ECHO) and produced by Brian Thompson at The Vault LA (MUNICIPAL WASTE, KILLSWITCH ENGAGE, AS I LAY DYING), the clip will be shot in a converted warehouse and promises to be as heavy and formidable as the band themselves. The video will see OCEANOplaying the song alongside a twisted photographic interpretation of each lyrical line as it is growled.

The director's vision for the photographic concept is a compelling choice for a band whose image already relies on dark intensity. "Me and my director of photography shot some more surrealistic stuff to accentuate the brutality," says Guera. As for exactly what imagery will be used, the director slyly hints, "I use a lot of gnarled branches, some human props, I don't want to give too much away. The visuals will speak for themselves."

"The video is mostly based around OCEANO's performance," he continues. "They are really brutal so we are going to accentuate that in the way we shoot them, covering them from all angles, matching our movement to the change ups in the song."

"District Of Misery", the blasting lead single from OCEANO's April 7 debut, "Depths", can be heard on Sirius XM satellite radio (where it is currently charting at number 15 on the Liquid Metal playlist).

OCEANO has added more dates to their relentless, non-stop touring schedule. In addition to its dates with the legendary VITAL REMAINS,"the heaviest, most pissed off deathcore band on the planet" will be playing alongside such bands as ENDWELL and THE MILES BETWEEN. They will also be playing a special one-off date at the Atticus Fest with EMMURE, TERROR, WINDS OF PLAGUE and many more.

"Depths" was recorded with producer Joey Sturgis (THE DEVIL WEARS PRADA, MY CHILDREN MY BRIDE) at The Foundation Studios in Connersville, Indiana, and will feature artwork from Colin Marks (STRAPPING YOUNG LAD, ABORTED, WHITECHAPEL). The CD will contain 13 tracks of the angriest deathcore cuts ever committed to record, alongside a limited-edition bonus DVD, and will also be available as a limited-edition version with two exclusive bonus tracks.

"Depths" track listing:

01. Descent
02. Inhuman Affliction
03. Empathy For Leviathan
04. Plague Campaign
05. Fractured Frames, Scattered Flesh
06. Disgust For Your Kind
07. Depths
08. District Of Misery
09. With Legions
10. Slaughtered Like Swine
11. A Mandatory Sacrifice
12. Samael The Destroyer
13. Abysm


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).