NASUM Sign With BURNING HEART, New Album Due In October

Swedish grindcore merchants NASUM have signed a worldwide deal with Burning Heart Records. The group's fourth album, "Shift", was recorded at Soundlab studios and is scheduled for release in October. The group's recorded output will still be released in the U.S. through Relapse via a licensing deal with Burning Heart.

"Our contract with Relapse expired and we decided to try something different, and with the basic fact that Europe currently is the biggest market for NASUM and in the aftermath of 'Helvete''s success in Sweden, we figured that a European label, even a Swedish, would be best for NASUM," the band write on their web site.

"We've followed the development of Burning Heart Records during the years. They started the label about the same time as NASUM formed and they have been host to many friends of us (MILLENCOLIN, THE PEEPSHOWS, NINE, VOICE OF A GENERATION, etc) and also released records with bands that have inspired NASUM (REFUSED and BREACH).

"Just like Relapse, Burning Heart has got a lot of different bands on their roster with the big exception that Burning Heart would never have Relapse's classic phrase 'For a massive catalogue with grindcore, black metal, industrial…' printed on their record sleeves…

"Burning Heart is not the hardest label out there. They have released records that have absolutely nothing in common with NASUM. Actually, a lot of their records have not much in common with NASUM. The closest to grindcore they've put out is a short (but sweet) blast on the latest RAISED FIST album. Still there is a history of raw hardcore in Burning Heart. The founder Peter Ahlqvist release many important records on his Uproar label during the 80's and employee Jallo Lehto is THE Jallo Lehto.

"But that's all part of the challenge, of the shift. We have full confidence for Burning Heart although they haven't been exploring the harder, more extreme styles of music much earlier. We feel that they have enough experience and engagement to do their best with our music.

"And it's really, really nice to share the same town as the label…

"At the same time as we're psyched with the change of labels in Europe, we are very glad to continue working with Relapse in the USA. Without Relapse we wouldn't have come this far, we would not be ready to release our fourth (!) album! And we are also very happy to continue working with Ritual Records in Japan."

With regards to the upcoming album, the band said, "Shift" "is the most relentless album recorded by NASUM. It has the fastest parts ever performed by us and a lot of cool hooks and grooves. Those of you who loved all or any of the previous albums will love 'Shift'.

"We went into Soundlab Studios with 32 songs, added one old song (more about that later) and wrote one in the studio. During the basic takes we decided to scrap one song that we clearly hadn't given enough time during the rehearsals. So in the end 33 songs were recorded, 30 were completed and mixed and meant to cover one album and a limited edition 7" to be released by Relapse Records."

"Shift" track listing:

01. Particles
02. The Engine of Death
03. Twinkle, Twinkle Little Scar
04. No Paradise for The Damned
05. Wrath
06. Fear is your Weapon
07. The Deepest Hole
08. High on Hate
09. Pathetic
10. Circle of Defeat
11. Like Cattle
12. Ros
13. The Smallest Man
14. Cornered
15. Strife
16. The Clash
17. Hets
18. Closer to The End
19. Fury
20. Fight Terror with Terror
21. Ett Inflammerat Sår
22. Deleted Scenes
23. Creature
24. Darkness Falls
25. DLTD (Japan bonus)
26. Gravar (Japan bonus)

A 14-second Quicktime video clip from the recording of "The Deepest Hole" can be downloaded from this location.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).