LINKIN PARK To Release Special Rarities Album With Fan-Club Package

Two-time Grammy-winning rock band LINKIN PARK has announced a December 3 release date for "LPU9: Demos", a special rarities album available with a membership to the band's fan club, the Linkin Park Underground. The album and membership package can be purchased together at and at select Best Buy locations and includes a t-shirt, patch, and other exclusive merchandise items.

"LPU9: Demos" features nine unreleased demo versions of some of the band's biggest hits, including "Faint", "Breaking The Habit", and "Leave Out All The Rest". Also included is "Across The Line", a previously unreleased song recorded during the "Minutes To Midnight" studio sessions. Fans also get "Morning After (acoustic)", from frontman Chester Bennington's side project, DEAD BY SUNRISE (as an exclusive download).

"Songs change constantly over the course of the creative process, so we thought it'd be cool to share early versions of familiar tracks," says LINKIN PARK vocalist Mike Shinoda. "The versions in this collection represent important moments in the evolution of each song: different vocals, music variations, and missing parts. They're snapshots of our works-in-progress."

Since its formation in 2001, the LPU's reach has extended worldwide to form a tight global community. The band has maintained a strong direct bond throughout, and every year they design special merchandise and release music exclusively to LPU members.

Fans first heard the new song, "Across The Line", during online video episodes ("LPTV"). Originally entitled "Japan", fans sought out the song for years, but the band had never released it. In response to fan feedback, the band decided to finish the song and make it available as a highlight of "LPU9".

"The LPU is a movement," says guitarist Brad Delson. "Their support of the band is inspiring. So we try to give back to them whenever we can. When we heard that they had been talking about 'Across The Line', we knew we had to make it available for them."

The LPU has enabled fans worldwide to interact with members of the band, meeting them at exclusive LP Underground meet-and-greet signings (held at almost every LINKIN PARK show), or chatting with them online at exclusive chats through the fan club members-only website, In past years, the band has offered free concert tickets to fan club members, cast them as extras in a music video ("Faint"), and flown them out for rehearsal sessions. The site also provides fans with exclusive news, presales, contests, photos, video, and more. The fan club consistently strives to offer more to its members through web site innovations, creative content, and engaging contests and giveaways.

The full track listing for "LPU9: Demos" is as follows:

01. A-Six (original long version 2002)
02. Faint (demo 2002)
03. Sad ("By Myself" demo 1999)
04. Fear ("Leave Out All the Rest" demo 2006)
05. Figure.09 (demo 2002)
06. Stick And Move ("Runaway" demo 1998)
07. Across The Line (unreleased demo 2007)
08. Drawing ("Breaking The Habit" demo 2002)
09. Drum Song ("Little Things Give You Away" demo 2006)

LINKIN PARK is currently in the studio preparing a new album for release in 2010.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).