Chicago's KOMMANDANT has inked a deal with the Italian record label Aeternus Tenebrarum Music Foundation. The band's new full-length album, "The Draconian Archetype", is being recorded and engineered by Chris Djuricic at Belle City Sound in Racine, Wisconsin for an early 2012 release.

Commented the band in a statement: "KOMMANDANT has grown tremendously as a band over the last year and has really come into its own. We view Aeternus Tenebrarum Music Foundation as important allies and look forward to flying under their banner."

"The Draconian Archetype" preliminary track listing:

01. Hate Is Strength
02. Call Of The Void
03. Arbiter Of Enslavement
04. Obsidian Gravitational Torrent
05. The Transition
06. Atavistic Species
07. We Are The Angels Of Death
08. Of Blood And Iron
09. Fore-Aft Synthesis
10. Downfall

KOMMANDANT guitarist James Bresnahan previously said about the band's new album, "We have been constantly pushing the KOMMANDANT sound into new extremes. 'The Draconian Archetype' is the best representation yet of who we are and what we stand for. ['Draconian archetype'] is the idea of applying an older or more traditional set of values or rules to modern situations. [The] songs explore the concept of promoting strength, decisiveness and traditional virtues instead of coddling weakness and obfuscation. Obviously metal in general promotes stripped-down hyper-masculine concepts like war, and in that respect we are similar, but that's where the similarity generally ends. I think it would be rather short-sighted to classify us as simply a 'war metal' band, since our songs range quite a bit beyond conflict in their subject matter."


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).