JOE SATRIANI Lands Highest U.S. Chart Position Of 30-Year Career With 'Shockwave Supernova'

JOE SATRIANI Lands Highest U.S. Chart Position Of 30-Year Career With 'Shockwave Supernova'

Joe Satriani's 15th studio album, "Shockwave Supernova", has earned the multi-Grammy-nominated guitarist his highest U.S. chart position of his career. The CD debuted on Billboard's Top 200 Current Albums Chart at No. 19, the highest debut of his 30-year career, topping his former highest, 1992's "The Extremist", which hit No. 22 on its debut. In addition, the album also debuted at No. 3 on the Billboard Rock chart and ranks as the highest charting all-instrumental rock album on Billboard's Top 200 in the Soundscan era.

To celebrate, Satriani will be sitting in with THE ROOTS on "The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon" this evening. Tune in to NBC at 11:35/10:35c p.m. to watch the iconic guitarist trade licks with Capitan Kirk and the rest of the band.

In addition to the U.S. chart success, Satriani also had high debuts in Australia/New Zealand at No. 23 and in the U.K., where it entered the chart at No. 22,making this his highest U.K. chart position since the self-titled "Joe Satriani" in 1995, which reached No. 21.

For two decades, Satriani has traveled the world, playing to sold-out crowds as both a headliner and as founder of the all-star G3 guitar extravaganza. His studio and live recordings have sold more than 10 million copies worldwide to date and of his many solo albums, two have gone platinum and four others went gold, with 15 Grammy nominations between them. His side project, CHICKENFOOT, featuring former VAN HALEN frontman Sammy Hagar, former VAN HALEN bassist Michael Anthony, and RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS' drummer Chad Smith, saw their debut album certified gold and their second studio album debuted at No. 9.

Satriani will set off his "Shockwave World Tour 2015" on September 17 in France. The European leg will run through November 10, with the ending show in London. The U.S. portion of the tour is set to begin early in 2016 with an announcement expected next month. Joining Joe for the "Shockwave Tour" is Marco Minnemann (drums), Bryan Beller (bass) and Mike Keneally (keyboards, guitar).

"Shockwave Supernova" track listing:

01. Shockwave Supernova
02. Lost In A Memory
03. Crazy Joey
04. In My Pocket
05. On Peregrine Wings
06. Cataclysmic
07. San Francisco Blue
08. Keep On Movin'
09. All Of My Life
10. A Phase I'm Going Through
11. Scarborough Stomp
12. Butterfly And Zebra
13. If There Is No Heaven
14. Stars Race Across The Sky
15. Goodbye Supernova

Photo credit: Chapman Baehler



To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).